# Rice University

Private nonprofit college in Houston, TX. IPEDS ID 227757.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/rice-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/rice-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 8% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $13,370 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 95%; beats 99% of TX colleges and 98% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $89,718; beats 97% of TX colleges and 96% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $9,716

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $5,827 |
| 30-48k | $563 |
| 48-75k | $3,217 |
| 75-110k | $17,755 |
| 110k+ | $48,466 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.08 years on average (89% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $89,718 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $5,827 | $23,774 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $563 | $2,297 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $3,217 | $13,125 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $17,755 | $72,440 | 1.3 years |
| 110k+ | $48,466 | $197,741 | 3.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $79,788
- Tuition and fees: $64,144
- Housing and meals: $15,900; books: $1,400

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 740–770; SAT math: 770–800; ACT: 34–35 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 31,059 applicants, 2,447 admitted, 1,125 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 8%, ACT 34–35 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 8%, ACT 34–36 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (55 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer and Information Sciences | $131,154 | $182,443 | $12,381 |
| Electrical Engineering | $96,751 | $136,656 | not reported |
| Economics | $78,814 | $129,575 | $11,289 |
| Biomedical Engineering | $88,307 | $121,099 | not reported |
| Chemical Engineering | $87,830 | $113,605 | $13,178 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $82,899 | $108,970 | $15,375 |
| Political Science | $54,728 | $87,804 | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $51,110 | $87,404 | $10,000 |
| Cognitive Science | $47,459 | $66,913 | $13,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural History, Criticism, and Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Civil Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Operations Research | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nanotechnology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | $7,500 |
| Physiology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | $50,286 | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medieval and Renaissance Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classical and Ancient Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology | $41,299 | not reported | $12,505 |
| Public Policy Analysis | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Computer and Information Sciences → Software developer: median wage $129,440 (Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX), $132,150 (TX), $135,980 (U.S.)
- Chemical Engineering → Chemical engineer: median wage $138,120 (Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX), $132,750 (TX), $125,040 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
