# Pittsburg State University

Public college in Pittsburg, KS. IPEDS ID 155681. Bachelor's & associate degrees (43% of undergraduate awards are bachelor's, 2023-24).
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/pittsburg-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/pittsburg-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 89% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $15,784 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 57%; beats 81% of KS colleges and 55% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $50,579; beats 44% of KS colleges and 42% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $14,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,968 |
| 30-48k | $11,453 |
| 48-75k | $14,676 |
| 75-110k | $18,873 |
| 110k+ | $20,237 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.47 years on average (34% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $50,579 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,216 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in KS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,968 | $53,497 | 3.3 years |
| 30-48k | $11,453 | $51,195 | 3.1 years |
| 48-75k | $14,676 | $65,602 | 4.0 years |
| 75-110k | $18,873 | $84,362 | 5.2 years |
| 110k+ | $20,237 | $90,459 | 5.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $22,099 in-state; about $33,443 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $8,400 in-state, $19,744 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $9,398; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: 17–24 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 2,856 applicants, 2,518 admitted, 877 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 89%, ACT 17–24 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 88%, ACT 18–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (44 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Engineering / Engineering-Related Technologies / Technicians, Other | $66,582 | $111,920 | $21,235 |
| Construction Management | $69,733 | $90,321 | $23,461 |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | $64,703 | $81,562 | $22,250 |
| Finance | $50,450 | $76,033 | $21,875 |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies / Technicians | $57,234 | $74,878 | $25,000 |
| Computer Systems Analysis | $54,783 | $71,199 | $20,500 |
| Nursing | $66,243 | $70,657 | $22,791 |
| Accounting | $43,624 | $66,851 | $22,250 |
| Business | $46,738 | $64,565 | $23,015 |
| Marketing | $44,401 | $60,219 | $23,994 |
| Biology | $32,134 | $56,733 | $19,550 |
| Social Work | $38,288 | $53,878 | $27,000 |
| Psychology | $36,197 | $51,640 | $22,951 |
| English | not reported | $49,023 | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $43,802 | $48,757 | $24,125 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $36,597 | $46,931 | $23,500 |
| Communications | $28,106 | $45,940 | $23,250 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $41,572 | $43,465 | $22,727 |
| Graphic Communications | $30,270 | $39,946 | $25,500 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | $28,782 | $34,318 | $25,000 |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical / Electronic Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Quality Control and Safety Technologies / Technicians | $69,750 | not reported | not reported |
| Construction Engineering Technology / Technician | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering-Related Fields | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | $35,587 | not reported | $19,661 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $36,393 | not reported | $24,900 |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminal Justice | not reported | not reported | $24,843 |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business → Management analyst: median wage not reported (metro), $81,210 (KS), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Marketing → Marketing specialist: median wage not reported (metro), $70,430 (KS), $78,760 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
