# Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton

Public college in Hazleton, PA. IPEDS ID 214768.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/pennsylvania-state-university-penn-state-hazleton · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/pennsylvania-state-university-penn-state-hazleton.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 96% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $17,597 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 26%; beats 10% of PA colleges and 9% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $63,435; beats 54% of PA colleges and 77% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $19,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,770 |
| 30-48k | $14,756 |
| 48-75k | $13,902 |
| 75-110k | $19,777 |
| 110k+ | $23,218 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.28 years on average (11% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $63,435 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in PA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,770 | $50,376 | 1.8 years |
| 30-48k | $14,756 | $63,156 | 2.3 years |
| 48-75k | $13,902 | $59,501 | 2.2 years |
| 75-110k | $19,777 | $84,646 | 3.1 years |
| 110k+ | $23,218 | $99,373 | 3.6 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $29,677 in-state; about $39,861 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $15,208 in-state, $25,392 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $12,022; books: $1,840

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 550–660; SAT math: 540–630; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 714 applicants, 650 admitted, 200 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 96%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 91%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (13 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Information Science / Studies | $66,209 | $91,671 | $26,000 |
| Engineering | $68,331 | $88,063 | $27,000 |
| Human Resources | $58,884 | $81,755 | $27,000 |
| Health Administration | $49,749 | $75,396 | $26,000 |
| Management Science / Analytics | $58,140 | $73,308 | $26,000 |
| Business | $45,110 | $65,292 | $27,000 |
| Biology | $33,417 | $64,910 | $26,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $37,834 | $58,195 | $27,750 |
| Criminal Justice | $37,240 | $56,877 | $26,000 |
| Business / Corporate Communications | $32,445 | $55,840 | $26,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $45,795 | $53,362 | $26,263 |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | $33,153 | $51,635 | $27,000 |
| Psychology | $32,408 | $49,543 | $27,000 |

## Major to career
- Business → Management analyst: median wage $93,150 (Scranton--Wilkes-Barre, PA), $93,830 (PA), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Criminal Justice → Police officer: median wage $72,210 (Scranton--Wilkes-Barre, PA), $85,470 (PA), $76,210 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
