# Northwestern Oklahoma State University (NWOSU)

Public college in Alva, OK. IPEDS ID 207306.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/northwestern-oklahoma-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/northwestern-oklahoma-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 66% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $10,104 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 30%; beats 25% of OK colleges and 13% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $44,358; beats 28% of OK colleges and 24% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $11,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $6,439 |
| 30-48k | $7,828 |
| 48-75k | $10,539 |
| 75-110k | $12,638 |
| 110k+ | $16,065 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.36 years on average (24% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $44,358 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $32,429 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in OK (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $6,439 | $28,074 | 2.4 years |
| 30-48k | $7,828 | $34,130 | 2.9 years |
| 48-75k | $10,539 | $45,950 | 3.9 years |
| 75-110k | $12,638 | $55,102 | 4.6 years |
| 110k+ | $16,065 | $70,043 | 5.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $18,672 in-state; about $24,366 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $5,970 in-state, $11,664 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $5,520; books: $1,600

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 420–518; SAT math: 383–518; ACT: 16–21 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 1,293 applicants, 859 admitted, 340 enrolled; test scores required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 66%, ACT 16–21 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 66%, ACT 16–22 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (25 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $65,335 | $85,283 | $23,202 |
| Criminal Justice | not reported | $59,355 | not reported |
| Business Administration | $44,000 | $58,292 | $18,172 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | $50,705 | not reported |
| Agricultural Business | not reported | $49,666 | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $36,300 | $44,123 | $22,170 |
| Psychology | not reported | $41,641 | $20,375 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | $39,527 | not reported |
| Parks, Recreation, Leisure, Fitness, and Kinesiology, Other | $26,809 | $38,610 | $20,335 |
| Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics and Statistics, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Work | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage not reported (metro), $82,920 (OK), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage not reported (metro), $99,420 (OK), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
