# North Dakota State University

Public college in Fargo, ND. IPEDS ID 200332.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/north-dakota-state-university-main-campus · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/north-dakota-state-university-main-campus.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 95% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $15,543 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 64%; beats 92% of ND colleges and 68% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $62,203; beats 92% of ND colleges and 74% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $16,750

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,370 |
| 30-48k | $11,343 |
| 48-75k | $11,923 |
| 75-110k | $16,082 |
| 110k+ | $18,856 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.34 years on average (45% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $62,203 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $40,610 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in ND (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,370 | $40,666 | 1.9 years |
| 30-48k | $11,343 | $49,229 | 2.3 years |
| 48-75k | $11,923 | $51,746 | 2.4 years |
| 75-110k | $16,082 | $69,796 | 3.2 years |
| 110k+ | $18,856 | $81,835 | 3.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $23,716 in-state; about $28,370 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $11,110 in-state, $15,764 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $9,565; books: $800

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: 19–25 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 7,331 applicants, 7,024 admitted, 2,214 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 95%, ACT 19–25 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 96%, ACT 19–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (82 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration | not reported | $125,175 | $19,500 |
| Construction Engineering Technology / Technician | $74,199 | $95,019 | $27,000 |
| Electrical Engineering | $75,212 | $94,510 | $22,000 |
| Computer Engineering | $76,558 | $92,878 | $21,511 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $72,158 | $87,702 | $27,000 |
| Computer Science | $60,426 | $87,562 | $25,959 |
| Agricultural Engineering | not reported | $84,529 | not reported |
| Industrial Engineering | $68,873 | $84,016 | $26,000 |
| Civil Engineering | $72,729 | $83,992 | $25,500 |
| Agricultural Production Operations | $62,869 | $83,779 | $23,250 |
| Finance | $53,163 | $80,522 | $25,542 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | $67,303 | $77,589 | $28,039 |
| Agricultural Business | $59,953 | $77,296 | $19,500 |
| Management Information Systems | $64,181 | $76,527 | $25,500 |
| Accounting | $57,695 | $74,888 | $23,600 |
| Nursing | $70,821 | $73,935 | $30,500 |
| Marketing | $47,815 | $71,027 | $25,000 |
| Business Administration | $48,105 | $67,405 | $23,250 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | $58,799 | $65,292 | $31,000 |
| Architecture | not reported | $65,148 | $27,000 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | $40,262 | $64,014 | $25,543 |
| Homeland Security | $42,802 | $62,649 | $27,000 |
| Agriculture | $55,828 | $62,285 | $25,000 |
| Business / Corporate Communications | $36,513 | $62,181 | $27,000 |
| Agricultural Mechanization | $52,387 | $58,690 | not reported |
| Biology | $34,165 | $58,662 | $23,250 |
| Criminal Justice | $38,057 | $58,252 | $23,125 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $41,846 | $57,663 | $27,000 |
| Apparel and Textiles | $40,558 | $56,197 | $23,250 |
| Sociology | $40,451 | $56,040 | $27,750 |
| Environmental Design | not reported | $55,647 | not reported |
| Psychology | $35,891 | $54,784 | $25,000 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $39,223 | $54,656 | $25,000 |
| Dietetics | $49,443 | $54,301 | $27,500 |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $44,064 | $53,907 | $21,500 |
| Political Science | $26,635 | $52,834 | $24,475 |
| Environmental / Natural Resources Management and Policy | $40,971 | $52,570 | $27,000 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $46,970 | $52,339 | $25,485 |
| Hospitality Management | $41,984 | $51,277 | not reported |
| Animal Sciences | $39,290 | $50,975 | $23,625 |
| Zoology / Animal Biology | $33,115 | $50,701 | $24,250 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $41,717 | $50,052 | $26,569 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $36,646 | $48,986 | $23,250 |
| Studio Art | not reported | $46,117 | not reported |
| Music | not reported | $45,578 | not reported |
| Veterinary / Animal Health Technologies / Technicians | $36,814 | $44,457 | $23,250 |
| Agricultural and Domestic Animal Services | not reported | $42,973 | not reported |
| English | not reported | $40,460 | $25,025 |
| Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Agricultural Public Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Food Science and Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Plant Sciences | $49,048 | not reported | not reported |
| Soil Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Landscape Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Construction Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Manufacturing Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | $27,000 |
| Botany / Plant Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biotechnology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nutrition Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Research) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | $27,000 |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $82,120 (Fargo, ND-MN), $80,730 (ND), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Mechanical Engineering → Mechanical engineer: median wage $86,330 (Fargo, ND-MN), $86,330 (ND), $104,110 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
