# Mount St. Mary's University

Private nonprofit college in Emmitsburg, MD. IPEDS ID 163462.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/mount-st-marys-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/mount-st-marys-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 74% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $22,655 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 65%; beats 54% of MD colleges and 70% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $64,072; beats 56% of MD colleges and 79% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,603 |
| 30-48k | $20,067 |
| 48-75k | $21,942 |
| 75-110k | $27,170 |
| 110k+ | $31,330 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.17 years on average (49% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $64,072 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $36,731 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MD (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,603 | $48,385 | 1.8 years |
| 30-48k | $20,067 | $83,679 | 3.1 years |
| 48-75k | $21,942 | $91,498 | 3.3 years |
| 75-110k | $27,170 | $113,299 | 4.1 years |
| 110k+ | $31,330 | $130,646 | 4.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $63,731
- Tuition and fees: $48,630
- Housing and meals: $14,750; books: $950

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 543–660; SAT math: 503–620; ACT: 19–27 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 5,422 applicants, 3,896 admitted, 480 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 74%, ACT 19–27 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 72%, ACT 19–23 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (38 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer and Information Sciences | $57,612 | $87,360 | $21,240 |
| Accounting | $64,849 | $81,796 | $19,500 |
| Biology | not reported | $76,062 | $25,000 |
| Business | $46,859 | $74,839 | $21,500 |
| Criminology | $43,230 | $60,428 | $27,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | $59,630 | $23,250 |
| Communications | $39,055 | $57,669 | $26,312 |
| Sociology | $40,196 | $57,290 | $27,000 |
| Political Science | $29,800 | $56,507 | $27,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | $54,677 | not reported |
| History | not reported | $50,563 | $27,000 |
| Psychology (Research) | $34,454 | $40,480 | $21,500 |
| Studio Art | not reported | $39,651 | $20,500 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Development and Family Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | $21,250 |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theology / Ministry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Security / Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | $21,500 |
| Entrepreneurship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business → Management analyst: median wage $126,830 (Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV), $121,680 (MD), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Accounting → Accountant / auditor: median wage $102,140 (Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV), $89,370 (MD), $83,680 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
