# Mississippi University for Women (MUW)

Public college in Columbus, MS. IPEDS ID 176035.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/mississippi-university-for-women · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/mississippi-university-for-women.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 90% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $12,411 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 47%; beats 21% of MS colleges and 36% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $46,128; beats 64% of MS colleges and 29% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $13,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,676 |
| 30-48k | $10,434 |
| 48-75k | $13,037 |
| 75-110k | $17,060 |
| 110k+ | $19,285 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.42 years on average (24% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $46,128 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $30,550 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,676 | $47,188 | 3.0 years |
| 30-48k | $10,434 | $46,118 | 3.0 years |
| 48-75k | $13,037 | $57,624 | 3.7 years |
| 75-110k | $17,060 | $75,405 | 4.8 years |
| 110k+ | $19,285 | $85,240 | 5.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $22,225 in-state; about $22,225 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $8,492 in-state, $8,492 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $8,387; books: $1,600

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: 17–24 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 553 applicants, 553 admitted, 159 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 90%, ACT 17–24 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 100%, ACT 18–23 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (29 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $74,422 | $91,522 | $19,260 |
| Accounting | not reported | $52,829 | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $49,488 | not reported |
| Legal Support Services | $28,627 | $45,081 | $26,500 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | $43,936 | $20,825 |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | $20,026 | $42,043 | $25,750 |
| Business Administration | $35,310 | $42,035 | $24,875 |
| Communications | not reported | $41,632 | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $36,812 | $40,196 | $27,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $31,811 | $39,455 | $29,673 |
| Public Health | $26,553 | $38,325 | $28,000 |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | $29,090 | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Development and Family Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | $20,833 |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology | $24,426 | not reported | $22,375 |
| Public Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage not reported (metro), $77,090 (MS), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage not reported (metro), $69,390 (MS), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
