# McPherson College

Private nonprofit college in McPherson, KS. IPEDS ID 155511.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/mcpherson-college · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/mcpherson-college.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 77% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $26,441 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 34%; beats 22% of KS colleges and 17% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $52,084; beats 56% of KS colleges and 46% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $13,833

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,587 |
| 30-48k | $20,939 |
| 48-75k | $28,655 |
| 75-110k | $28,737 |
| 110k+ | $31,043 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.17 years on average (44% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $52,084 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,216 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in KS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,587 | $94,188 | 5.3 years |
| 30-48k | $20,939 | $87,316 | 4.9 years |
| 48-75k | $28,655 | $119,491 | 6.7 years |
| 75-110k | $28,737 | $119,833 | 6.7 years |
| 110k+ | $31,043 | $129,449 | 7.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $50,611
- Tuition and fees: $37,310
- Housing and meals: $10,322; books: $1,420

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 470–620; SAT math: 490–580; ACT: 18–23 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 1,209 applicants, 1,013 admitted, 241 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 77%, ACT 18–23 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 84%, ACT 17–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (36 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies / Technicians | $42,278 | $52,781 | $27,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | $48,331 | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy and Religious Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Research) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Environmental Science / Conservation → Environmental scientist: median wage not reported (metro), $78,210 (KS), $82,220 (U.S.)
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage not reported (metro), $64,860 (KS), $74,750 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
