# Massachusetts Maritime Academy

Public college in Buzzards Bay, MA. IPEDS ID 166692.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/massachusetts-maritime-academy · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/massachusetts-maritime-academy.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 95% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $21,582 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 74%; beats 62% of MA colleges and 84% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $82,392; beats 75% of MA colleges and 94% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $20,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,757 |
| 30-48k | $9,051 |
| 48-75k | $10,547 |
| 75-110k | $15,557 |
| 110k+ | $27,367 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.15 years on average (68% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $82,392 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $39,880 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,757 | $36,342 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $9,051 | $37,562 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $10,547 | $43,770 | 1.0 years |
| 75-110k | $15,557 | $64,562 | 1.5 years |
| 110k+ | $27,367 | $113,573 | 2.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $31,367 in-state; about $43,669 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $11,420 in-state, $23,722 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $14,526; books: $1,500

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 1,120 applicants, 1,059 admitted, 399 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 95%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 95%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (9 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Systems Engineering | $79,942 | $125,191 | $27,000 |
| Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering | $100,024 | $125,016 | $27,000 |
| Marine Transportation | $84,187 | $119,916 | $24,686 |
| Engineering, Other | $77,421 | $104,007 | $26,500 |
| International Business | $54,741 | $89,094 | $25,000 |
| Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services, Other | $55,702 | $85,256 | $25,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $50,931 | $74,393 | $26,000 |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Energy Systems Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Environmental Science / Conservation → Environmental scientist: median wage $96,630 (Barnstable Town, MA), $100,640 (MA), $82,220 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
