# Marywood University

Private nonprofit college in Scranton, PA. IPEDS ID 213826.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/marywood-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/marywood-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 61% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $23,388 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 72%; beats 73% of PA colleges and 81% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $55,817; beats 32% of PA colleges and 58% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $23,235

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,941 |
| 30-48k | $21,192 |
| 48-75k | $21,303 |
| 75-110k | $24,083 |
| 110k+ | $28,365 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.3 years on average (54% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $55,817 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in PA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,941 | $81,446 | 4.1 years |
| 30-48k | $21,192 | $91,126 | 4.6 years |
| 48-75k | $21,303 | $91,603 | 4.6 years |
| 75-110k | $24,083 | $103,557 | 5.2 years |
| 110k+ | $28,365 | $121,970 | 6.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $55,582
- Tuition and fees: $41,420
- Housing and meals: $15,100; books: $1,250

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 530–640; SAT math: 530–610; ACT: 18–30 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 3,136 applicants, 2,625 admitted, 422 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 61%, ACT 18–30 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 84%, ACT 21–26 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (51 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | not reported | $130,682 | $25,125 |
| Nursing | $73,240 | $92,915 | $36,489 |
| Business Administration | $44,718 | $70,456 | $26,773 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $69,872 | $24,187 |
| Architecture | $48,650 | $67,178 | $31,000 |
| Accounting | not reported | $59,776 | not reported |
| Biology | $43,968 | $57,765 | $27,000 |
| Dietetics | not reported | $56,476 | $27,000 |
| Marketing | not reported | $55,906 | not reported |
| Criminal Justice | not reported | $54,861 | not reported |
| Interior Architecture | not reported | $50,266 | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $38,598 | $49,229 | $27,000 |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | not reported | $49,106 | $26,996 |
| Psychology | not reported | $45,088 | $27,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $41,848 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biotechnology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Clinical / Counseling) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Work | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Air Transportation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $25,727 | not reported | $27,362 |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Hospitality Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $82,650 (Scranton--Wilkes-Barre, PA), $96,430 (PA), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Architecture → Architect: median wage $80,870 (Scranton--Wilkes-Barre, PA), $97,030 (PA), $99,280 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
