# Mars Hill University

Private nonprofit college in Mars Hill, NC. IPEDS ID 198899.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/mars-hill-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/mars-hill-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 68% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $19,910 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 45%; beats 34% of NC colleges and 33% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $44,781; beats 39% of NC colleges and 25% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $18,172

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $17,021 |
| 30-48k | $17,020 |
| 48-75k | $20,628 |
| 75-110k | $21,637 |
| 110k+ | $21,972 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.22 years on average (35% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $44,781 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NC (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $17,021 | $71,829 | 6.4 years |
| 30-48k | $17,020 | $71,824 | 6.4 years |
| 48-75k | $20,628 | $87,050 | 7.7 years |
| 75-110k | $21,637 | $91,308 | 8.1 years |
| 110k+ | $21,972 | $92,722 | 8.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $50,099
- Tuition and fees: $37,736
- Housing and meals: $10,228; books: not reported

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 1,393 applicants, 1,085 admitted, 318 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 68%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 78%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (34 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $63,302 | $74,707 | $24,636 |
| Business Administration | $37,725 | $57,743 | $27,506 |
| Social Work | $41,643 | $51,053 | $29,133 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | $47,176 | not reported |
| Criminal Justice | not reported | $41,384 | $27,000 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | $29,455 | not reported | $26,040 |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Zoology / Animal Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology | not reported | not reported | $27,000 |
| Public Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $75,990 (Asheville, NC), $98,560 (NC), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $81,590 (Asheville, NC), $84,350 (NC), $97,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
