# Marquette University

Private nonprofit college in Milwaukee, WI. IPEDS ID 239105.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/marquette-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/marquette-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 81% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $31,487 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 83%; beats 97% of WI colleges and 92% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $78,257; beats 98% of WI colleges and 92% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $20,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,269 |
| 30-48k | $18,916 |
| 48-75k | $27,378 |
| 75-110k | $32,374 |
| 110k+ | $36,813 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.2 years on average (66% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $78,257 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $37,564 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in WI (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,269 | $93,530 | 2.3 years |
| 30-48k | $18,916 | $79,447 | 2.0 years |
| 48-75k | $27,378 | $114,988 | 2.8 years |
| 75-110k | $32,374 | $135,971 | 3.3 years |
| 110k+ | $36,813 | $154,615 | 3.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $66,768
- Tuition and fees: $51,170
- Housing and meals: $15,740; books: $720

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 610–680; SAT math: 590–680; ACT: 26–31 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 15,636 applicants, 13,672 admitted, 1,886 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 81%, ACT 26–31 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 87%, ACT 26–31 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (74 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electrical Engineering | $81,797 | $106,686 | $26,750 |
| International Business | $59,255 | $102,306 | $24,990 |
| Real Estate | $58,246 | $99,583 | $19,500 |
| Accounting | $67,665 | $99,086 | $25,000 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $70,530 | $98,108 | $22,536 |
| Finance | $67,888 | $97,719 | $24,044 |
| Computer Engineering | $69,664 | $97,608 | $24,767 |
| Biomedical Engineering | $73,526 | $95,728 | $27,000 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $73,049 | $93,764 | $26,602 |
| Biology | $28,555 | $88,921 | $25,296 |
| Civil Engineering | $68,386 | $88,144 | $27,000 |
| Nursing | $74,574 | $88,069 | $22,000 |
| Economics | $46,400 | $82,722 | $23,718 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | $82,520 | not reported |
| Marketing | $53,415 | $82,233 | $26,000 |
| Business Economics | $53,345 | $81,897 | $24,500 |
| Business Administration | $63,285 | $81,670 | $26,633 |
| Physiology | $31,173 | $78,125 | $27,000 |
| Mathematics | $47,141 | $76,620 | $20,500 |
| Political Science | $38,225 | $74,008 | $22,500 |
| Business / Corporate Communications | $39,816 | $71,711 | $24,187 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $66,501 | $26,000 |
| International Relations | $43,290 | $66,180 | $20,750 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $40,583 | $64,978 | $25,000 |
| Journalism | $38,700 | $63,322 | $26,000 |
| Writing | not reported | $62,473 | $26,000 |
| Communications | $36,443 | $60,482 | $23,531 |
| Psychology | $35,076 | $60,338 | $24,891 |
| History | $36,907 | $59,529 | $19,500 |
| Criminology | $35,650 | $59,083 | $25,000 |
| Sociology | not reported | $57,131 | $23,718 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $45,806 | $56,955 | $23,250 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $41,033 | $55,795 | $19,500 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $35,720 | $55,298 | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $45,974 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Construction Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cognitive Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematical Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theology / Ministry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Work | $37,494 | not reported | $19,500 |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Entrepreneurship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Resources | $54,242 | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Public Relations and Advertising → Public relations specialist: median wage $65,520 (Milwaukee-Waukesha, WI), $67,240 (WI), $74,750 (U.S.)
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $97,360 (Milwaukee-Waukesha, WI), $95,530 (WI), $97,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
