# Loyola University Chicago

Private nonprofit college in Chicago, IL. IPEDS ID 146719.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/loyola-university-chicago · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/loyola-university-chicago.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 82% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $36,079 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 73%; beats 83% of IL colleges and 83% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $71,530; beats 84% of IL colleges and 87% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $20,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $28,992 |
| 30-48k | $28,663 |
| 48-75k | $32,432 |
| 75-110k | $36,853 |
| 110k+ | $42,346 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.11 years on average (69% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $71,530 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in IL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $28,992 | $119,157 | 3.3 years |
| 30-48k | $28,663 | $117,805 | 3.3 years |
| 48-75k | $32,432 | $133,296 | 3.7 years |
| 75-110k | $36,853 | $151,466 | 4.2 years |
| 110k+ | $42,346 | $174,042 | 4.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $67,408
- Tuition and fees: $53,710
- Housing and meals: $16,894; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 600–690; SAT math: 570–670; ACT: 27–32 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 40,468 applicants, 32,937 admitted, 2,951 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 82%, ACT 27–32 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 81%, ACT 27–31 (IPEDS Admissions)

### Common Data Set 2025-26 (Fall 2025)
- Very important: none; important: none; considered: none
- Early decision: no; early action: no; waitlist: not reported
- Average high school GPA of enrolled first-years: 3.74
- Aid (full-time first-years): average 83.8% of need met; 334 of 1743 with need fully met; merit aid to students without need: 842 students, average $27,362
- Source: https://www.luc.edu/media/lucedu/oie/CDS%202025-26%20-%20Loyola%20University%20Chicago%20-%20Final_af.pdf

## Majors (82 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Management Information Systems | $67,801 | $103,884 | $24,500 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $68,950 | $99,112 | $22,701 |
| Accounting | $69,965 | $97,667 | $22,125 |
| Computer Engineering | $68,020 | $97,158 | $25,000 |
| Business Administration | $64,513 | $89,745 | $25,000 |
| Finance | $66,919 | $89,001 | $24,988 |
| Nursing | $76,869 | $87,922 | $27,000 |
| International Business | $55,496 | $87,698 | $25,000 |
| Marketing | $51,065 | $86,662 | $25,000 |
| Human Resources | not reported | $86,190 | not reported |
| Health Administration | $57,876 | $82,040 | $23,000 |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | not reported | $78,575 | $26,000 |
| Business Economics | $61,333 | $78,094 | $21,574 |
| Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other | not reported | $77,773 | $24,635 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $43,308 | $68,942 | $25,000 |
| Biochemistry | $38,487 | $67,681 | $25,000 |
| Security / Homeland Security | $51,202 | $64,194 | not reported |
| Political Science | $37,007 | $63,437 | $23,250 |
| Biology | $31,964 | $62,821 | $25,000 |
| Sociology | $34,004 | $61,429 | $22,250 |
| Philosophy | not reported | $60,571 | $25,530 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | $59,928 | not reported |
| Social Work | not reported | $59,206 | $21,133 |
| Anthropology | $26,977 | $59,024 | not reported |
| International Relations | $32,682 | $58,511 | $21,500 |
| Neuroscience | $26,251 | $58,373 | $25,000 |
| Communications | $31,495 | $58,256 | $25,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $38,953 | $58,145 | $25,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $30,797 | $57,790 | $24,042 |
| History | $31,079 | $57,639 | $24,000 |
| Journalism | $38,302 | $57,407 | $23,000 |
| Psychology | $32,463 | $56,658 | $25,000 |
| English | $28,640 | $56,289 | $26,000 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | $54,344 | $22,698 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $55,652 | $53,896 | $25,000 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $26,227 | $48,479 | $25,000 |
| Theatre | not reported | $42,195 | $22,625 |
| Agricultural Production Operations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental / Natural Resources Management and Policy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Software and Media Applications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomedical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Support Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theology / Ministry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pastoral Counseling / Ministry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | $24,250 |
| Psychology (Clinical / Counseling) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology and Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dietetics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Entrepreneurship | $45,869 | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $100,490 (Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN), $95,990 (IL), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Biology → Biological technician: median wage $57,700 (Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN), $55,790 (IL), $57,510 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
