# Louisiana Tech University

Public college in Ruston, LA. IPEDS ID 159647.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/louisiana-tech-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/louisiana-tech-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 86% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $11,864 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 64%; beats 88% of LA colleges and 68% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $52,279; beats 80% of LA colleges and 47% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,676 |
| 30-48k | $8,619 |
| 48-75k | $11,146 |
| 75-110k | $15,674 |
| 110k+ | $16,207 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.36 years on average (41% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $52,279 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $32,488 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in LA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,676 | $33,467 | 1.7 years |
| 30-48k | $8,619 | $37,579 | 1.9 years |
| 48-75k | $11,146 | $48,597 | 2.5 years |
| 75-110k | $15,674 | $68,339 | 3.5 years |
| 110k+ | $16,207 | $70,663 | 3.6 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $24,280 in-state; about $31,021 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $10,125 in-state, $16,866 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $9,447; books: $1,590

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 550–630; SAT math: 550–680; ACT: 21–27 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 9,263 applicants, 6,722 admitted, 2,263 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 86%, ACT 21–27 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 73%, ACT 21–27 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (54 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Engineering, Other | not reported | $105,080 | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | $71,994 | $99,526 | $21,000 |
| Chemical Engineering | $79,157 | $98,240 | $18,342 |
| Computer Science | $68,023 | $96,365 | $22,875 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $70,372 | $92,457 | $26,400 |
| Industrial Engineering | $65,739 | $88,619 | $31,000 |
| Electrical / Electronic Engineering Technologies / Technicians | $74,863 | $87,053 | not reported |
| Biomedical Engineering | $62,384 | $85,454 | $21,500 |
| Air Transportation | $35,669 | $83,323 | $20,375 |
| Civil Engineering | $61,868 | $81,524 | $27,000 |
| Construction Engineering Technology / Technician | $58,151 | $77,558 | $21,750 |
| Finance | $42,018 | $67,216 | $17,500 |
| Forestry | $44,120 | $65,941 | $24,250 |
| Accounting | $44,846 | $65,284 | $22,000 |
| Management Information Systems | $47,843 | $63,474 | $25,000 |
| Business Administration | $42,099 | $60,949 | $25,031 |
| Biology | $27,358 | $59,671 | $22,917 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $59,081 | $19,790 |
| Chemistry | $42,572 | $58,492 | $27,000 |
| Architecture and Related Services, Other | not reported | $53,731 | $27,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $31,802 | $53,391 | $24,750 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $45,234 | $52,150 | $23,600 |
| Health Administration | $44,468 | $52,122 | $35,219 |
| Political Science | $34,640 | $51,222 | $25,054 |
| Marketing | $28,853 | $51,118 | $21,335 |
| History | not reported | $45,142 | $20,500 |
| Sociology | not reported | $44,192 | $24,954 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | $43,183 | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $33,829 | $42,822 | $30,693 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $26,591 | $42,447 | $21,500 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $29,146 | $41,534 | $21,513 |
| Journalism | $21,087 | $41,220 | $25,000 |
| Psychology | $26,988 | $37,473 | $22,750 |
| Animal Sciences | $21,958 | $36,769 | $26,626 |
| Agricultural Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interior Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electromechanical Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Apparel and Textiles | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | $21,500 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dietetics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nursing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Mechanical Engineering → Mechanical engineer: median wage not reported (metro), $119,540 (LA), $104,110 (U.S.)
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage not reported (metro), $58,770 (LA), $63,970 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
