# Linfield University (LC)

Private nonprofit college in McMinnville, OR. IPEDS ID 209065.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/linfield-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/linfield-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 85% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $26,536 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 71%; beats 67% of OR colleges and 79% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $78,638; beats 90% of OR colleges and 92% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $20,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $20,059 |
| 30-48k | $18,664 |
| 48-75k | $22,806 |
| 75-110k | $26,070 |
| 110k+ | $32,519 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.16 years on average (56% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $78,638 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $36,549 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in OR (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $20,059 | $83,445 | 2.0 years |
| 30-48k | $18,664 | $77,642 | 1.8 years |
| 48-75k | $22,806 | $94,873 | 2.3 years |
| 75-110k | $26,070 | $108,451 | 2.6 years |
| 110k+ | $32,519 | $135,279 | 3.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $65,935
- Tuition and fees: $50,850
- Housing and meals: $14,060; books: $200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 1,963 applicants, 1,726 admitted, 345 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 85%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 88%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (51 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $95,604 | $109,374 | $31,000 |
| Accounting | $58,914 | $78,683 | $28,000 |
| Business Administration | $43,512 | $77,983 | $27,000 |
| Finance | $47,517 | $67,946 | $27,000 |
| Marketing | $46,734 | $66,731 | $27,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $31,285 | $58,347 | $27,000 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | $57,975 | $27,000 |
| Communications | $30,860 | $54,091 | $27,000 |
| Psychology | $34,628 | $53,493 | $27,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $43,862 | $52,429 | $27,000 |
| Biology | $42,677 | $49,714 | $27,000 |
| Food Science and Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Systems Analysis | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Studies / Paralegal | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Literature | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Materials Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $130,310 (Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro, OR-WA), $129,010 (OR), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $103,470 (Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro, OR-WA), $101,840 (OR), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
