# Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Public college in Kutztown, PA. IPEDS ID 213349.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/kutztown-university-of-pennsylvania · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/kutztown-university-of-pennsylvania.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 91% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $21,331 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 54%; beats 34% of PA colleges and 50% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $53,775; beats 28% of PA colleges and 51% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $20,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $15,957 |
| 30-48k | $16,386 |
| 48-75k | $19,306 |
| 75-110k | $23,840 |
| 110k+ | $26,759 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.27 years on average (41% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $53,775 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in PA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $15,957 | $68,136 | 3.8 years |
| 30-48k | $16,386 | $69,968 | 3.9 years |
| 48-75k | $19,306 | $82,437 | 4.6 years |
| 75-110k | $23,840 | $101,797 | 5.7 years |
| 110k+ | $26,759 | $114,261 | 6.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $29,866 in-state; about $34,620 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $11,314 in-state, $16,068 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $13,116; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 570–670; SAT math: 550–640; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 8,170 applicants, 7,748 admitted, 1,601 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 91%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 95%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

### Common Data Set 2025-26 (Fall 2025)
- Very important: rigor, class rank; important: none; considered: gpa, test scores, talent
- Early decision: no; early action: no; waitlist: no
- Average high school GPA of enrolled first-years: 3.36
- Aid (full-time first-years): average 39.8% of need met; 65 of 834 with need fully met; merit aid to students without need: 329 students, average $3,753
- Source: https://www.kutztown.edu/Departments-Offices/G-L/InstitutionalResearch/Documents/CDS_KU_2025%20COMMON%20DATA%20SET.pdf

## Majors (40 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physics | not reported | $74,813 | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $48,056 | $74,677 | $27,000 |
| Biology | $33,863 | $65,948 | $27,000 |
| Business Administration | $45,703 | $65,407 | $27,000 |
| Political Science | $38,567 | $58,347 | $27,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $40,477 | $56,959 | $26,250 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | $36,363 | $56,525 | $27,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $37,311 | $55,068 | $26,000 |
| Special Education | $50,645 | $54,845 | $27,000 |
| Communications | $35,957 | $54,173 | $26,000 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $40,286 | $53,312 | $27,000 |
| Geology / Earth Science | $28,040 | $52,378 | $26,334 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $44,793 | $51,346 | $27,000 |
| English | not reported | $50,300 | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $36,800 | $49,665 | $27,000 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $22,057 | $49,132 | $27,000 |
| Writing | $26,242 | $47,530 | $27,000 |
| Social Work | $37,135 | $47,221 | $26,624 |
| Psychology | $30,558 | $46,253 | $27,000 |
| Music | $17,725 | $39,549 | $27,000 |
| Studio Art | $19,413 | $34,337 | $27,000 |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Programming | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Library Science and Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | $34,490 | not reported | $28,000 |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Crafts / Craft Design, Folk Art and Artisanry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | $26,761 | not reported | $27,000 |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $96,260 (Reading, PA), $93,830 (PA), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $51,180 (Reading, PA), $57,460 (PA), $74,750 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
