# Kent State University at Kent

Public college in Kent, OH. IPEDS ID 203517.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/kent-state-university-at-kent · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/kent-state-university-at-kent.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 86% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $20,787 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 64%; beats 76% of OH colleges and 67% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $45,388; beats 22% of OH colleges and 27% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $17,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $15,280 |
| 30-48k | $15,718 |
| 48-75k | $17,296 |
| 75-110k | $23,685 |
| 110k+ | $26,278 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.29 years on average (49% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $45,388 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,438 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in OH (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $15,280 | $65,551 | 6.6 years |
| 30-48k | $15,718 | $67,430 | 6.8 years |
| 48-75k | $17,296 | $74,200 | 7.5 years |
| 75-110k | $23,685 | $101,609 | 10.2 years |
| 110k+ | $26,278 | $112,733 | 11.3 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $30,567 in-state; about $40,417 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $13,232 in-state, $23,082 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $13,040; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 510–630; SAT math: 500–610; ACT: 18–25 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 22,365 applicants, 19,379 admitted, 4,278 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 86%, ACT 18–25 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 87%, ACT 18–25 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (97 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $60,051 | $91,614 | $25,000 |
| Construction Management | $64,652 | $89,959 | $24,041 |
| Computer Systems Analysis | $55,790 | $79,317 | $25,000 |
| Nursing | $66,990 | $78,263 | $26,250 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $43,059 | $76,515 | $25,000 |
| Air Transportation | $40,876 | $76,501 | $24,730 |
| Mathematics | $54,367 | $76,336 | $19,250 |
| Industrial Engineering | $56,274 | $72,958 | $29,000 |
| Accounting | $53,988 | $71,633 | $24,119 |
| Finance | $51,153 | $71,330 | $25,000 |
| Business Economics | $51,622 | $68,757 | $25,000 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | $59,567 | $67,676 | $31,000 |
| Chemistry | $39,790 | $65,810 | $25,000 |
| Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other | not reported | $65,314 | not reported |
| Engineering Technologies / Technicians | $45,477 | $64,201 | $27,000 |
| Marketing | $44,567 | $63,440 | $25,000 |
| Business Administration | $43,509 | $62,265 | $26,000 |
| Entrepreneurship | $47,312 | $61,642 | $25,000 |
| Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations | $36,625 | $61,055 | $25,000 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $40,867 | $60,218 | $25,000 |
| Architecture | $34,723 | $59,299 | $26,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $34,147 | $57,947 | $25,000 |
| Legal Support Services | $38,981 | $57,413 | $25,000 |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | $41,924 | $57,360 | $27,000 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $36,351 | $56,540 | $26,000 |
| Biology | $30,118 | $56,502 | $25,000 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | $27,742 | $56,386 | $21,500 |
| Dietetics | $23,993 | $56,183 | $27,000 |
| Hospitality Management | $31,926 | $56,143 | $25,112 |
| Public Health | $39,159 | $54,544 | $28,884 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $41,205 | $53,833 | $31,963 |
| Geography | $31,414 | $53,656 | not reported |
| Political Science | $31,389 | $52,423 | $25,000 |
| International Relations | not reported | $51,747 | $25,500 |
| Journalism | $30,925 | $49,842 | $25,000 |
| Communications | $35,804 | $49,375 | $26,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $33,980 | $48,569 | $25,937 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $34,020 | $47,208 | $21,556 |
| History | $28,476 | $46,781 | $27,000 |
| Education | $37,370 | $46,646 | $30,782 |
| Geology / Earth Science | $40,005 | $46,171 | $27,000 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $35,860 | $44,283 | $26,750 |
| Special Education | $39,139 | $43,835 | $25,000 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | $31,422 | $43,686 | $21,074 |
| Music | $24,340 | $43,222 | $28,000 |
| American Sign Language | $33,929 | $42,488 | $30,000 |
| Psychology | $28,474 | $42,328 | $25,000 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $26,398 | $41,900 | $24,987 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $33,643 | $41,826 | $26,913 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $33,040 | $41,717 | $26,000 |
| Anthropology | $24,434 | $40,662 | $26,697 |
| Sociology | $29,183 | $40,217 | $25,000 |
| Theatre | $24,565 | $36,429 | $26,000 |
| English | $22,318 | $36,241 | $26,000 |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | not reported | $35,900 | $29,345 |
| Zoology / Animal Biology | $25,491 | $35,875 | $25,000 |
| Studio Art | $19,138 | $35,710 | $28,501 |
| Agricultural Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Software and Media Applications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical / Space Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electromechanical Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Botany / Plant Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biotechnology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Clinical / Counseling) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | $56,731 | not reported | $25,000 |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Crafts / Craft Design, Folk Art and Artisanry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Resources | $47,983 | not reported | $22,888 |
| Management Science / Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Insurance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $80,770 (Akron, OH), $82,510 (OH), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $86,050 (Akron, OH), $94,270 (OH), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
