# Kansas State University

Public college in Manhattan, KS. IPEDS ID 155399.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/kansas-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/kansas-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 82% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $19,406 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 71%; beats 100% of KS colleges and 80% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $57,262; beats 85% of KS colleges and 63% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $17,294

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,178 |
| 30-48k | $14,143 |
| 48-75k | $15,369 |
| 75-110k | $20,110 |
| 110k+ | $23,665 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.38 years on average (47% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $57,262 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,216 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in KS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,178 | $57,720 | 2.5 years |
| 30-48k | $14,143 | $61,946 | 2.7 years |
| 48-75k | $15,369 | $67,316 | 2.9 years |
| 75-110k | $20,110 | $88,082 | 3.8 years |
| 110k+ | $23,665 | $103,653 | 4.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $27,402 in-state; about $44,749 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $11,221 in-state, $28,568 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $12,020; books: $1,056

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 550–640; SAT math: 510–620; ACT: 20–27 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 13,437 applicants, 10,663 admitted, 3,187 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 82%, ACT 20–27 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 79%, ACT 20–27 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (94 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer and Information Sciences | $76,385 | $107,194 | $25,871 |
| Electrical Engineering | $78,758 | $95,640 | $23,105 |
| Industrial Engineering | $77,724 | $93,098 | $25,000 |
| Chemical Engineering | $77,492 | $92,068 | $24,750 |
| Construction Engineering Technology / Technician | $74,253 | $91,809 | $27,000 |
| Architectural Engineering | $74,091 | $91,336 | $27,000 |
| Agricultural and Food Products Processing | $76,052 | $91,040 | $23,250 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $72,627 | $88,533 | $25,000 |
| Management Information Systems | $60,144 | $85,396 | $24,308 |
| Air Transportation | $51,198 | $85,147 | $21,500 |
| Civil Engineering | $69,300 | $83,453 | $25,250 |
| Agricultural Engineering | $64,644 | $81,376 | $22,873 |
| Accounting | $60,155 | $79,008 | $24,250 |
| Agricultural Mechanization | $63,239 | $78,537 | $19,344 |
| Food Science and Technology | $62,479 | $78,367 | $24,844 |
| Finance | $54,509 | $75,705 | $24,990 |
| Engineering Technologies / Technicians | $61,696 | $72,544 | $22,250 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $44,486 | $72,398 | $23,322 |
| Economics | $52,490 | $71,747 | $20,312 |
| Business | $54,223 | $70,601 | $29,705 |
| Marketing | $50,468 | $69,837 | $25,000 |
| Business Administration | $52,538 | $69,735 | $23,250 |
| Natural Sciences | $28,107 | $68,243 | $20,500 |
| Agricultural Business | $53,751 | $66,387 | $19,641 |
| Physiology | $31,958 | $65,677 | $22,775 |
| Biochemistry | $29,651 | $65,122 | $27,500 |
| Political Science | $32,289 | $63,811 | $25,000 |
| Nutrition Science | $33,381 | $62,128 | $24,625 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $61,621 | $19,500 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $43,992 | $61,150 | not reported |
| Gerontology | $37,623 | $60,172 | $25,000 |
| Dietetics | not reported | $59,824 | $29,125 |
| Entrepreneurship | $39,646 | $59,809 | $21,287 |
| Plant Sciences | $50,115 | $58,603 | $21,905 |
| Hospitality Management | $42,073 | $58,282 | $25,000 |
| Biology | $27,301 | $57,718 | $21,500 |
| Apparel and Textiles | $37,529 | $57,576 | $22,773 |
| Journalism | $37,484 | $56,418 | $21,500 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | $55,985 | not reported |
| Mathematics | $43,067 | $55,435 | $21,250 |
| Natural Resources and Conservation, Other | $39,705 | $53,401 | $23,979 |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | $53,389 | not reported |
| Psychology (Research) | $36,257 | $53,337 | $20,035 |
| Communications | $30,385 | $52,603 | $24,945 |
| Sociology | $42,985 | $51,237 | $25,946 |
| Animal Sciences | $38,868 | $50,941 | $22,757 |
| Social Sciences | $40,793 | $50,681 | $27,500 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | $37,083 | $50,522 | $26,000 |
| Social Work | $41,833 | $50,480 | $24,603 |
| English | $31,364 | $50,448 | $21,750 |
| History | $33,744 | $50,016 | $19,539 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | not reported | $49,593 | not reported |
| Zoology / Animal Biology | $26,843 | $48,908 | $24,853 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $45,179 | $48,801 | $22,814 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $34,241 | $47,528 | $25,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $44,320 | $46,562 | $24,999 |
| Anthropology | $18,567 | $41,426 | $22,686 |
| Studio Art | $28,218 | $39,991 | $27,000 |
| Theatre | not reported | $39,598 | not reported |
| Agricultural Public Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Agriculture / Veterinary Preparatory Programs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental / Natural Resources Management and Policy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Real Estate Development | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomedical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | $77,938 | not reported | $25,766 |
| Environmental Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | $23,091 |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | $35,523 | not reported | $17,227 |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | $14,138 |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage $49,520 (Manhattan, KS), $56,450 (KS), $63,970 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $80,720 (Manhattan, KS), $81,210 (KS), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
