# Jackson State University

Public college in Jackson, MS. IPEDS ID 175856.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/jackson-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/jackson-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 93% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $23,836 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 51%; beats 50% of MS colleges and 44% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $39,060; beats 29% of MS colleges and 11% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $24,751

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,869 |
| 30-48k | $22,516 |
| 48-75k | $26,236 |
| 75-110k | $26,388 |
| 110k+ | $27,576 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.46 years on average (19% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $39,060 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $30,550 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,869 | $101,996 | 12.0 years |
| 30-48k | $22,516 | $100,421 | 11.8 years |
| 48-75k | $26,236 | $117,013 | 13.8 years |
| 75-110k | $26,388 | $117,690 | 13.8 years |
| 110k+ | $27,576 | $122,989 | 14.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $32,415 in-state; about $35,415 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $8,965 in-state, $11,965 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $11,782; books: $1,400

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 430–550; SAT math: 390–520; ACT: 15–20 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 14,141 applicants, 12,873 admitted, 978 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 93%, ACT 15–20 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 91%, ACT 15–20 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (42 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $70,347 | $90,577 | $28,001 |
| Computer Engineering | $51,570 | $89,702 | $27,000 |
| Civil Engineering | $49,498 | $78,824 | $31,000 |
| Accounting | $40,419 | $59,996 | $29,500 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $40,448 | $56,747 | $31,000 |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | $36,378 | $52,107 | $30,242 |
| Business Administration | $28,911 | $50,246 | $35,000 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | $35,174 | $49,299 | $42,752 |
| Criminal Justice | $27,101 | $46,799 | $31,000 |
| Communications | $24,235 | $46,472 | $31,624 |
| Entrepreneurship | not reported | $45,707 | $36,890 |
| Health Administration | $30,860 | $45,308 | $44,875 |
| Psychology | $24,757 | $44,881 | $31,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $41,812 | $42,260 | $48,911 |
| Social Work | $26,873 | $41,566 | $36,403 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $28,678 | $40,365 | $28,875 |
| Biology | $25,354 | $38,027 | $29,000 |
| Finance | $33,932 | $37,959 | $26,000 |
| Education, Other | $27,729 | $36,481 | $42,699 |
| Visual and Performing Arts | $23,555 | $33,213 | $31,000 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomedical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | $27,000 |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | $17,858 | not reported | $25,000 |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Biology → Biological technician: median wage $58,550 (Jackson, MS), $56,930 (MS), $57,510 (U.S.)
- Social Work → Social worker: median wage $46,610 (Jackson, MS), $46,530 (MS), $59,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
