# Iona University

Private nonprofit college in New Rochelle, NY. IPEDS ID 191931.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/iona-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/iona-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 87% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $29,188 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 56%; beats 37% of NY colleges and 54% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $73,595; beats 76% of NY colleges and 88% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $19,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $25,785 |
| 30-48k | $27,075 |
| 48-75k | $28,601 |
| 75-110k | $29,598 |
| 110k+ | $32,295 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.14 years on average (51% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $73,595 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $25,785 | $106,750 | 2.7 years |
| 30-48k | $27,075 | $112,090 | 2.9 years |
| 48-75k | $28,601 | $118,408 | 3.0 years |
| 75-110k | $29,598 | $122,536 | 3.1 years |
| 110k+ | $32,295 | $133,701 | 3.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $60,247
- Tuition and fees: $47,260
- Housing and meals: $18,270; books: $1,000

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 570–650; SAT math: 540–650; ACT: 24–29 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 7,289 applicants, 6,643 admitted, 803 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 87%, ACT 24–29 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 91%, ACT 20–28 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (39 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting | $46,266 | $89,359 | $25,363 |
| Finance | $53,084 | $84,128 | $22,656 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $77,352 | $26,000 |
| Business Administration | $40,156 | $70,790 | $27,000 |
| Marketing | $39,595 | $69,542 | $24,000 |
| Social Work | not reported | $66,417 | $25,749 |
| Psychology | $33,023 | $60,525 | $26,000 |
| Political Science | $18,148 | $59,151 | $27,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $31,283 | $58,688 | $27,000 |
| Communications | $29,911 | $58,650 | $26,954 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | $57,669 | $24,990 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Software and Media Applications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | $24,062 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | $27,000 |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nursing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Entrepreneurship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | $48,720 | not reported | $26,661 |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Marketing → Marketing specialist: median wage $100,520 (New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ), $98,580 (NY), $78,760 (U.S.)
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $84,130 (New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ), $81,250 (NY), $74,750 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
