# Hardin-Simmons University

Private nonprofit college in Abilene, TX. IPEDS ID 225247.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/hardin-simmons-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/hardin-simmons-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 90% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $19,555 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 46%; beats 51% of TX colleges and 35% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $54,771; beats 62% of TX colleges and 55% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $13,359

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,822 |
| 30-48k | $15,190 |
| 48-75k | $17,248 |
| 75-110k | $18,182 |
| 110k+ | $25,639 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.24 years on average (39% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $54,771 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,822 | $58,605 | 2.8 years |
| 30-48k | $15,190 | $64,406 | 3.0 years |
| 48-75k | $17,248 | $73,132 | 3.4 years |
| 75-110k | $18,182 | $77,092 | 3.6 years |
| 110k+ | $25,639 | $108,709 | 5.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $45,904
- Tuition and fees: $32,960
- Housing and meals: $10,634; books: $1,060

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 510–600; SAT math: 500–590; ACT: 19–26 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 2,452 applicants, 2,367 admitted, 356 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 90%, ACT 19–26 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 97%, ACT 18–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (46 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | not reported | $90,276 | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | $72,425 | not reported |
| Biology | $30,520 | $52,005 | $26,500 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $48,334 | $51,722 | $27,709 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $30,789 | $50,560 | $26,850 |
| Criminal Justice | $39,445 | $49,389 | $28,000 |
| Business Administration | $35,582 | $48,112 | $24,290 |
| Psychology | $31,503 | $47,423 | $26,695 |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Programming | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $44,023 | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Computer Interaction | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Bible Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Music and Worship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theology / Ministry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Clinical / Counseling) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Work | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $81,330 (Abilene, TX), $101,400 (TX), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Education (Subject Teaching) → High school teacher: median wage $59,990 (Abilene, TX), $63,590 (TX), $72,040 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
