# Hamilton College

Private nonprofit college in Clinton, NY. IPEDS ID 191515.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/hamilton-college · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/hamilton-college.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 14% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $28,985 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 91%; beats 96% of NY colleges and 96% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $78,411; beats 83% of NY colleges and 92% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,015

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,028 |
| 30-48k | $9,489 |
| 48-75k | $10,863 |
| 75-110k | $20,614 |
| 110k+ | $46,907 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.13 years on average (81% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $78,411 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,028 | $33,156 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $9,489 | $39,190 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $10,863 | $44,864 | 1.0 years |
| 75-110k | $20,614 | $85,136 | 1.9 years |
| 110k+ | $46,907 | $193,726 | 4.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $84,230
- Tuition and fees: $68,960
- Housing and meals: $16,690; books: $800

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 720–770; SAT math: 730–780; ACT: 33–35 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 9,643 applicants, 1,135 admitted, 462 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 14%, ACT 33–35 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 12%, ACT 32–35 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (34 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Economics | $71,350 | $130,633 | $18,250 |
| Political Science | $58,807 | $88,019 | $12,500 |
| Mathematics | $53,698 | $83,211 | $16,275 |
| International Relations | $45,332 | $64,585 | $19,000 |
| Writing | $28,442 | $42,806 | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $41,946 | not reported | $12,200 |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Literature | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | $43,639 | not reported | $17,000 |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | $15,500 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Research) | $39,880 | not reported | $17,450 |
| Public Policy Analysis | $56,158 | not reported | $17,000 |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Archeology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Environmental Science / Conservation → Environmental scientist: median wage $78,170 (Utica-Rome, NY), $82,160 (NY), $82,220 (U.S.)
- Computer and Information Sciences → Software developer: median wage $113,390 (Utica-Rome, NY), $166,180 (NY), $135,980 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
