# Gustavus Adolphus College

Private nonprofit college in Saint Peter, MN. IPEDS ID 173647.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/gustavus-adolphus-college · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/gustavus-adolphus-college.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 61% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $22,900 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 77%; beats 86% of MN colleges and 87% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $65,607; beats 81% of MN colleges and 81% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $23,250

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,015 |
| 30-48k | $10,783 |
| 48-75k | $13,875 |
| 75-110k | $19,015 |
| 110k+ | $29,674 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.18 years on average (63% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $65,607 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $38,184 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,015 | $50,223 | 1.8 years |
| 30-48k | $10,783 | $45,073 | 1.6 years |
| 48-75k | $13,875 | $57,997 | 2.1 years |
| 75-110k | $19,015 | $79,483 | 2.9 years |
| 110k+ | $29,674 | $124,037 | 4.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $67,613
- Tuition and fees: $56,076
- Housing and meals: $11,290; books: $900

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: 24–30 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 4,450 applicants, 2,750 admitted, 499 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 61%, ACT 24–30 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 62%, ACT 25–31 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (38 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting | $64,094 | $95,200 | $26,959 |
| Economics | $52,439 | $91,252 | $24,474 |
| Nursing | $71,294 | $86,114 | $27,000 |
| Business | $49,881 | $79,260 | $25,625 |
| Physics | not reported | $73,540 | $26,000 |
| Communications | $50,074 | $69,423 | $27,000 |
| Political Science | $38,463 | $62,218 | $27,000 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | $62,016 | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $38,796 | $57,870 | $27,000 |
| Biology | $31,877 | $54,202 | $25,640 |
| Psychology | $33,174 | $53,277 | $25,914 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $38,024 | $49,758 | $23,250 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $47,250 | $48,822 | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $44,117 | $47,629 | $27,000 |
| English | $33,456 | $46,987 | $27,000 |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | $26,901 |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | $28,601 | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business → Management analyst: median wage $77,020 (Mankato, MN), $100,790 (MN), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $63,740 (Mankato, MN), $68,620 (MN), $74,750 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
