# Guilford College

Private nonprofit college in Greensboro, NC. IPEDS ID 198613.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/guilford-college · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/guilford-college.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 80% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $22,270 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 46%; beats 36% of NC colleges and 34% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $47,590; beats 54% of NC colleges and 33% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,448

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,367 |
| 30-48k | $22,825 |
| 48-75k | $34,680 |
| 75-110k | $49,275 |
| 110k+ | $49,368 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.3 years on average (37% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $47,590 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NC (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,367 | $78,978 | 5.6 years |
| 30-48k | $22,825 | $98,148 | 7.0 years |
| 48-75k | $34,680 | $149,124 | 10.6 years |
| 75-110k | $49,275 | $211,883 | 15.1 years |
| 110k+ | $49,368 | $212,282 | 15.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $55,689
- Tuition and fees: $41,362
- Housing and meals: $13,100; books: $1,270

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 550–650; SAT math: 570–610; ACT: 18–24 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 3,775 applicants, 3,162 admitted, 366 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 80%, ACT 18–24 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 84%, ACT 18–26 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (40 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting | $44,566 | $67,698 | $27,000 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | $65,823 | not reported |
| Business Administration | $46,497 | $60,858 | $27,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $31,799 | $54,209 | $27,290 |
| Psychology | $27,740 | $49,921 | $29,460 |
| English | $19,742 | $49,064 | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $28,802 | $46,651 | $27,000 |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | not reported | $46,011 | $27,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | $30,486 | not reported | $21,250 |
| Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sustainability Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Community Organization and Advocacy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology and Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $95,000 (Greensboro-High Point, NC), $98,560 (NC), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Criminal Justice → Police officer: median wage $60,830 (Greensboro-High Point, NC), $59,300 (NC), $76,210 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
