# Georgia College & State University

Public college in Milledgeville, GA. IPEDS ID 139861.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/georgia-college-and-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/georgia-college-and-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 78% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $20,686 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 64%; beats 84% of GA colleges and 67% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $58,140; beats 91% of GA colleges and 65% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $16,018

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $15,396 |
| 30-48k | $16,772 |
| 48-75k | $19,179 |
| 75-110k | $22,294 |
| 110k+ | $23,216 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.2 years on average (50% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $58,140 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in GA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $15,396 | $64,663 | 2.6 years |
| 30-48k | $16,772 | $70,442 | 2.9 years |
| 48-75k | $19,179 | $80,552 | 3.3 years |
| 75-110k | $22,294 | $93,635 | 3.8 years |
| 110k+ | $23,216 | $97,507 | 4.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $30,258 in-state; about $50,584 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $9,186 in-state, $29,512 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $11,774; books: $2,000

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 550–630; SAT math: 520–600; ACT: 22–26 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 6,214 applicants, 5,454 admitted, 1,816 enrolled; test scores required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 78%, ACT 22–26 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 88%, ACT 21–26 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (38 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Information Technology | $67,455 | $97,653 | $20,740 |
| Computer Science | $76,971 | $96,335 | $23,219 |
| Business Economics | $49,187 | $86,894 | not reported |
| Physics | $62,478 | $85,089 | not reported |
| Nursing | $78,087 | $83,058 | $25,000 |
| Business Administration | $50,056 | $71,795 | $23,611 |
| Marketing | $49,540 | $71,560 | $24,000 |
| Accounting | $50,583 | $69,875 | $22,425 |
| Mathematics | not reported | $67,340 | not reported |
| Public Health | $34,113 | $62,386 | $27,000 |
| Political Science | $34,321 | $61,009 | $21,965 |
| Biology | $32,550 | $58,522 | $25,000 |
| Journalism | $38,603 | $57,843 | $25,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $29,203 | $55,817 | $25,000 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | $54,927 | not reported |
| Psychology (Research) | $32,149 | $54,441 | $24,500 |
| Special Education | $45,167 | $54,380 | $26,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $47,513 | $52,509 | $26,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $35,952 | $52,478 | $23,114 |
| Criminal Justice | $39,133 | $52,062 | $25,000 |
| English | $26,308 | $44,931 | $25,250 |
| History | $23,907 | $44,795 | $25,000 |
| Studio Art | $21,542 | $37,109 | $26,000 |
| Theatre | not reported | $33,965 | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage not reported (metro), $93,550 (GA), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Marketing → Marketing specialist: median wage not reported (metro), $75,850 (GA), $78,760 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
