# Franklin W Olin College of Engineering

Private nonprofit college in Needham, MA. IPEDS ID 441982.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/franklin-w-olin-college-of-engineering · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/franklin-w-olin-college-of-engineering.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 25% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $25,171 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 96%; beats 95% of MA colleges and 99% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $129,455; beats 99% of MA colleges and 100% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $14,287

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | not reported |
| 30-48k | $3,100 |
| 48-75k | $9,528 |
| 75-110k | $12,271 |
| 110k+ | $27,096 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.22 years on average (73% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $129,455 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $39,880 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | not reported | not reported | not available |
| 30-48k | $3,100 | $13,082 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $9,528 | $40,208 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $12,271 | $51,784 | under 1 year |
| 110k+ | $27,096 | $114,345 | 1.3 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $86,474
- Tuition and fees: $66,398
- Housing and meals: $19,820; books: $216

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 723–768; SAT math: 770–790; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 928 applicants, 201 admitted, 98 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 25%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 22%, ACT 34–35 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (3 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Engineering | $109,455 | $135,136 | $14,512 |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | $87,590 | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Electrical Engineering → Electrical engineer: median wage $128,610 (Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH), $127,720 (MA), $120,630 (U.S.)
- Mechanical Engineering → Mechanical engineer: median wage $119,300 (Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH), $119,300 (MA), $104,110 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
