# Franciscan University of Steubenville

Private nonprofit college in Steubenville, OH. IPEDS ID 205957.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/franciscan-university-of-steubenville · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/franciscan-university-of-steubenville.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 58% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $23,589 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 76%; beats 91% of OH colleges and 86% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $50,030; beats 44% of OH colleges and 41% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $18,590

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $19,696 |
| 30-48k | $18,616 |
| 48-75k | $20,288 |
| 75-110k | $20,744 |
| 110k+ | $25,675 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.11 years on average (68% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $50,030 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,438 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in OH (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $19,696 | $80,951 | 5.5 years |
| 30-48k | $18,616 | $76,512 | 5.2 years |
| 48-75k | $20,288 | $83,384 | 5.7 years |
| 75-110k | $20,744 | $85,258 | 5.8 years |
| 110k+ | $25,675 | $105,524 | 7.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $44,580
- Tuition and fees: $34,100
- Housing and meals: $9,540; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 590–700; SAT math: 520–650; ACT: 22–29 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 2,265 applicants, 1,636 admitted, 674 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 58%, ACT 22–29 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 72%, ACT 23–29 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (33 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting | not reported | $75,362 | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | $72,426 | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | $72,194 | $20,500 |
| Nursing | $66,507 | $68,809 | $27,000 |
| Business Administration | $31,932 | $66,879 | $27,000 |
| Biology | $34,567 | $62,048 | $24,500 |
| Marketing | $37,833 | $56,937 | $25,000 |
| Social Work | $36,697 | $44,867 | $27,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $35,050 | $42,987 | $27,000 |
| Communications | $33,991 | $42,188 | $24,953 |
| Religious Education | $35,803 | $40,987 | $26,980 |
| Theology / Ministry | $29,656 | $39,091 | $25,000 |
| English | $27,354 | $38,761 | $26,000 |
| History | $29,424 | $37,605 | $24,000 |
| Philosophy | $32,165 | $31,906 | $25,000 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Development and Family Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Music and Worship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology | $35,793 | not reported | $25,298 |
| Criminal Justice | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $77,400 (Weirton-Steubenville, WV-OH), $82,510 (OH), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage $60,670 (Weirton-Steubenville, WV-OH), $77,370 (OH), $63,970 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
