# Fort Hays State University (FHSU)

Public college in Hays, KS. IPEDS ID 155061.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/fort-hays-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/fort-hays-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 90% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $12,569 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 48%; beats 52% of KS colleges and 38% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $48,928; beats 30% of KS colleges and 38% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $14,250

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,661 |
| 30-48k | $9,776 |
| 48-75k | $11,941 |
| 75-110k | $14,266 |
| 110k+ | $16,641 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.39 years on average (33% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $48,928 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,216 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in KS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,661 | $33,632 | 2.3 years |
| 30-48k | $9,776 | $42,917 | 2.9 years |
| 48-75k | $11,941 | $52,421 | 3.6 years |
| 75-110k | $14,266 | $62,628 | 4.3 years |
| 110k+ | $16,641 | $73,054 | 5.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $19,909 in-state; about $31,727 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $5,923 in-state, $17,741 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $8,772; books: $1,000

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 500–580; SAT math: 470–560; ACT: 18–24 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 2,174 applicants, 1,995 admitted, 886 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 90%, ACT 18–24 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 92%, ACT 19–25 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (50 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $67,435 | $79,957 | $24,726 |
| Computer Programming | $57,162 | $73,380 | $28,000 |
| Political Science | $30,454 | $72,384 | $30,468 |
| Information Science / Studies | $56,399 | $67,823 | $26,427 |
| Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other | $54,142 | $65,526 | $26,564 |
| Finance | $47,313 | $64,524 | $19,520 |
| Accounting | $56,503 | $63,148 | $26,000 |
| Marketing | $45,619 | $62,261 | $31,000 |
| Business Administration | $52,129 | $61,153 | $27,000 |
| Agricultural Business | $47,012 | $58,520 | $19,250 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | $62,386 | $58,463 | $30,950 |
| Biology | $37,134 | $58,355 | $22,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $42,428 | $55,790 | $28,750 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $43,273 | $53,945 | $23,082 |
| Social Work | $42,413 | $53,549 | $27,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $42,795 | $53,176 | $26,573 |
| Psychology | $40,009 | $51,898 | $29,000 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $50,246 | $24,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $42,112 | $45,190 | $30,800 |
| Sociology | $38,075 | $44,405 | $33,482 |
| Studio Art | $31,909 | $39,280 | $22,937 |
| Agriculture | $48,048 | not reported | $20,340 |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Software and Media Applications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English Language and Literature / Letters, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | $44,261 | not reported | $31,000 |
| Geology / Earth Science | $43,421 | not reported | $23,875 |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | $50,690 | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Operations Support and Assistant Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business / Corporate Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Hospitality Management | $34,004 | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | $55,111 | not reported | $24,119 |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage not reported (metro), $56,450 (KS), $63,970 (U.S.)
- Education (Subject Teaching) → High school teacher: median wage not reported (metro), $59,920 (KS), $72,040 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
