# Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT)

Public college in New York, NY. IPEDS ID 191126. Bachelor's & associate degrees (45% of undergraduate awards are bachelor's, 2023-24).
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/fashion-institute-of-technology · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/fashion-institute-of-technology.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 60% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $19,095 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 81%; beats 86% of NY colleges and 90% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $62,696; beats 56% of NY colleges and 75% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $12,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,117 |
| 30-48k | $16,238 |
| 48-75k | $20,406 |
| 75-110k | $21,979 |
| 110k+ | $26,070 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $26,838 in-state; about $37,418 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $6,294 in-state, $16,874 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $24,623; books: $1,850

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 4,326 applicants, 2,492 admitted, 1,322 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 60%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 58%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

### Common Data Set 2025-26 (Fall 2025)
- Very important: rigor, gpa, essay, talent; important: none; considered: class rank, extracurriculars, character, first generation, volunteer, work experience
- Early decision: no; early action: no; waitlist: yes
- Average high school GPA of enrolled first-years: 3.6
- Aid (full-time first-years): average 52% of need met; 322 of 723 with need fully met; merit aid to students without need: 98 students, average $1,015
- Source: https://www.fitnyc.edu/documents/ire/cds-2025-26-updated3.pdf

## Majors (10 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apparel and Textiles | $40,463 | $71,139 | $21,165 |
| Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations | $42,717 | $70,727 | $21,500 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $36,849 | $69,954 | $21,500 |
| Marketing | $37,663 | $67,002 | $18,721 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $27,023 | $60,882 | $25,000 |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | $27,941 | $53,710 | $24,734 |
| Entrepreneurship | $24,387 | $49,627 | $19,500 |
| Studio Art | $23,428 | $39,930 | $24,683 |
| Graphic Communications | $12,261 | not reported | $19,875 |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design → Graphic designer: median wage $79,280 (New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ), $77,340 (NY), $62,960 (U.S.)
- Public Relations and Advertising → Public relations specialist: median wage $84,130 (New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ), $81,250 (NY), $74,750 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
