# Fairmont State University

Public college in Fairmont, WV. IPEDS ID 237367.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/fairmont-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/fairmont-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 99% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $9,032 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 44%; beats 50% of WV colleges and 32% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $46,857; beats 59% of WV colleges and 31% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $12,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,434 |
| 30-48k | $8,679 |
| 48-75k | $10,505 |
| 75-110k | $11,184 |
| 110k+ | $6,945 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.37 years on average (32% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $46,857 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $32,695 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in WV (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,434 | $36,857 | 2.6 years |
| 30-48k | $8,679 | $37,927 | 2.7 years |
| 48-75k | $10,505 | $45,907 | 3.2 years |
| 75-110k | $11,184 | $48,874 | 3.5 years |
| 110k+ | $6,945 | $30,350 | 2.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $20,018 in-state; about $30,234 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $8,708 in-state, $18,924 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $11,486; books: $1,000

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 450–560; SAT math: 360–510; ACT: 17–23 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 1,979 applicants, 1,964 admitted, 673 enrolled; test scores required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 99%, ACT 17–23 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 99%, ACT 17–23 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (35 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $77,962 | $86,071 | $33,625 |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies / Technicians | $54,410 | $75,569 | $25,000 |
| Civil Engineering Technologies / Technicians | $57,570 | $75,102 | not reported |
| Quality Control and Safety Technologies / Technicians | $48,423 | $74,806 | $26,307 |
| International Relations | $35,925 | $71,751 | $24,250 |
| Accounting | $47,630 | $62,302 | not reported |
| Health Administration | $35,741 | $56,376 | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | $55,280 | not reported |
| Political Science | $34,992 | $54,360 | $25,878 |
| Business Administration | $33,767 | $51,968 | $26,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $33,815 | $50,343 | $30,939 |
| Criminal Justice | $36,179 | $49,055 | $25,557 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $30,833 | $48,858 | $22,000 |
| Education | $40,931 | $46,625 | $22,760 |
| Psychology | $29,307 | $46,235 | $26,000 |
| Graphic Communications | not reported | $41,784 | not reported |
| History | not reported | $28,802 | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $64,975 | not reported | $24,500 |
| Surveying Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical / Electronic Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Security / Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Air Transportation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage not reported (metro), $97,470 (WV), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Criminal Justice → Police officer: median wage not reported (metro), $56,960 (WV), $76,210 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
