# Dillard University

Private nonprofit college in New Orleans, LA. IPEDS ID 158802.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/dillard-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/dillard-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 42% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $22,094 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 43%; beats 40% of LA colleges and 31% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $39,196; beats 12% of LA colleges and 11% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $23,048

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $19,819 |
| 30-48k | $21,094 |
| 48-75k | $23,224 |
| 75-110k | $26,032 |
| 110k+ | $27,019 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.26 years on average (35% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $39,196 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $32,488 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in LA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $19,819 | $84,429 | 12.6 years |
| 30-48k | $21,094 | $89,860 | 13.4 years |
| 48-75k | $23,224 | $98,934 | 14.7 years |
| 75-110k | $26,032 | $110,896 | 16.5 years |
| 110k+ | $27,019 | $115,101 | 17.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $39,202
- Tuition and fees: $23,918
- Housing and meals: $11,786; books: $1,300

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 480–640; SAT math: 488–562; ACT: 18–22 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 8,065 applicants, 3,267 admitted, 248 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 42%, ACT 18–22 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 41%, ACT 19–23 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (21 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $86,585 | $90,661 | not reported |
| Criminal Justice | $26,744 | $49,687 | $32,187 |
| Business Administration | not reported | $49,546 | $31,000 |
| Communications | $18,155 | $49,103 | $34,500 |
| Public Health | $35,205 | $47,641 | $35,000 |
| Biology | $23,999 | $37,061 | $31,376 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology | $33,143 | not reported | $35,000 |
| Social Work | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Public Health → Health education specialist: median wage $60,980 (New Orleans-Metairie, LA), $57,840 (LA), $64,070 (U.S.)
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $81,850 (New Orleans-Metairie, LA), $80,230 (LA), $97,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
