# Delta State University

Public college in Cleveland, MS. IPEDS ID 175616.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/delta-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/delta-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 100% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $13,540 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 48%; beats 29% of MS colleges and 38% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $41,991; beats 43% of MS colleges and 17% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,223 |
| 30-48k | $10,615 |
| 48-75k | $10,625 |
| 75-110k | $17,170 |
| 110k+ | $16,950 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.41 years on average (31% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $41,991 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $30,550 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,223 | $53,903 | 4.7 years |
| 30-48k | $10,615 | $46,812 | 4.1 years |
| 48-75k | $10,625 | $46,856 | 4.1 years |
| 75-110k | $17,170 | $75,720 | 6.6 years |
| 110k+ | $16,950 | $74,750 | 6.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $22,445 in-state; about $22,445 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $8,605 in-state, $8,605 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $8,427; books: $1,500

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 475–590; SAT math: 450–620; ACT: 17–23 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 1,242 applicants, 1,238 admitted, 218 enrolled; test scores required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 100%, ACT 17–23 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 100%, ACT 17–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (32 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $68,221 | $76,031 | $23,590 |
| Business Administration | not reported | $55,424 | $19,183 |
| Social Work | not reported | $47,196 | $25,000 |
| Biology | $20,823 | $46,266 | $22,601 |
| Business | $30,953 | $45,058 | $15,000 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $34,177 | $43,300 | $22,500 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | $28,918 | $41,285 | $26,979 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $39,008 | $41,177 | $19,500 |
| Psychology | $18,767 | $37,868 | $19,625 |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | $25,415 | $36,216 | $28,196 |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | $29,250 |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | $29,291 |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Science Technologies / Technicians, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminal Justice | not reported | not reported | $25,896 |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Air Transportation | $32,537 | not reported | $21,500 |
| Visual and Performing Arts | $24,839 | not reported | $23,375 |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Education (Subject Teaching) → High school teacher: median wage not reported (metro), $50,980 (MS), $72,040 (U.S.)
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage not reported (metro), $77,090 (MS), $97,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
