# Dalton State College

Public college in Dalton, GA. IPEDS ID 139463.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/dalton-state-college · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/dalton-state-college.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: not reported (latest, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $5,012 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 25%; beats 18% of GA colleges and 8% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $40,251; beats 29% of GA colleges and 13% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $7,361

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $3,962 |
| 30-48k | $3,788 |
| 48-75k | $6,042 |
| 75-110k | $8,114 |
| 110k+ | $10,055 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.72 years on average (14% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $40,251 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in GA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $3,962 | $18,701 | 2.8 years |
| 30-48k | $3,788 | $17,879 | 2.7 years |
| 48-75k | $6,042 | $28,518 | 4.2 years |
| 75-110k | $8,114 | $38,298 | 5.7 years |
| 110k+ | $10,055 | $47,460 | 7.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $12,719 in-state; about $20,039 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $3,336 in-state, $10,656 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $10,128; books: $1,743

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, latest)

## Majors (26 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $78,830 | $84,253 | $17,312 |
| Accounting | $51,841 | $66,902 | $20,582 |
| Marketing | not reported | $64,649 | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | $63,224 | not reported |
| Business Administration | $43,424 | $60,331 | $18,810 |
| Criminal Justice | $37,856 | $48,341 | $10,550 |
| Social Work | not reported | $47,420 | not reported |
| History | $32,899 | $47,243 | not reported |
| Biology | $30,839 | $47,218 | $10,323 |
| English | not reported | $45,747 | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $39,889 | $45,604 | $18,400 |
| Psychology | $30,688 | $41,357 | $18,061 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $29,594 | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography and Environmental Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Science Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $98,090 (Dalton, GA), $99,600 (GA), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage $63,340 (Dalton, GA), $72,290 (GA), $63,970 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
