# CUNY Hunter College

Public college in New York, NY. IPEDS ID 190594.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/cuny-hunter-college · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/cuny-hunter-college.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 54% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $2,984 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 57%; beats 41% of NY colleges and 56% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $63,163; beats 59% of NY colleges and 76% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $8,812

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $1,029 |
| 30-48k | $1,935 |
| 48-75k | $6,003 |
| 75-110k | $8,810 |
| 110k+ | $12,259 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.42 years on average (40% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $63,163 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $1,029 | $4,548 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $1,935 | $8,553 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $6,003 | $26,533 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $8,810 | $38,940 | 1.4 years |
| 110k+ | $12,259 | $54,185 | 1.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $13,905 in-state; about $21,855 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $7,382 in-state, $15,332 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $11,324; books: $1,500

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 550–700; SAT math: 550–720; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 31,614 applicants, 17,087 admitted, 3,175 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 54%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 54%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (54 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $103,692 | $116,361 | $16,944 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | $86,173 | $104,791 | not reported |
| Computer Science | $76,747 | $102,321 | $8,250 |
| Human Biology | $31,891 | $83,420 | $11,000 |
| Mathematics | $48,918 | $80,308 | not reported |
| Accounting | $54,617 | $75,803 | $11,070 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $36,410 | $73,857 | $10,500 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $49,245 | $72,919 | $12,000 |
| Social Work | $42,227 | $70,273 | $9,608 |
| Economics | $34,580 | $69,920 | $14,000 |
| Public Health | $47,444 | $63,884 | not reported |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | $36,362 | $63,406 | $10,348 |
| Political Science | $35,154 | $62,040 | $9,531 |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | not reported | $59,864 | not reported |
| Biology | $30,257 | $59,204 | $12,598 |
| Psychology | $31,706 | $59,149 | $10,923 |
| History | $28,790 | $58,253 | $10,500 |
| Sociology | $30,246 | $57,965 | $10,750 |
| Studio Art | $22,788 | $56,160 | $10,000 |
| English | $27,958 | $55,759 | $12,431 |
| Communications | $29,054 | $55,182 | $11,000 |
| Chemistry | $29,340 | $54,699 | $9,000 |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | $26,571 | $53,509 | not reported |
| Anthropology | $26,680 | $51,787 | $10,200 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $34,007 | $51,569 | $10,698 |
| Philosophy | $10,363 | $49,583 | not reported |
| Film and Photography | $24,869 | $46,545 | $7,134 |
| Music | $33,384 | $39,600 | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $30,534 | not reported | $15,523 |
| Middle / Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pharmacology and Toxicology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Archeology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | $25,059 | not reported | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dietetics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $84,130 (New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ), $81,250 (NY), $74,750 (U.S.)
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $119,720 (New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ), $109,440 (NY), $97,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
