# CUNY City College (CCNY)

Public college in New York, NY. IPEDS ID 190567.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/cuny-city-college · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/cuny-city-college.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 60% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $3,776 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 57%; beats 40% of NY colleges and 56% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $66,039; beats 64% of NY colleges and 81% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $9,775

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $1,251 |
| 30-48k | $2,990 |
| 48-75k | $6,811 |
| 75-110k | $9,982 |
| 110k+ | $12,806 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.59 years on average (28% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $66,039 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $1,251 | $5,742 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $2,990 | $13,724 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $6,811 | $31,262 | 1.0 years |
| 75-110k | $9,982 | $45,817 | 1.5 years |
| 110k+ | $12,806 | $58,780 | 1.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $14,403 in-state; about $22,353 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $7,340 in-state, $15,290 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $18,104; books: $1,500

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 540–700; SAT math: 530–730; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 31,988 applicants, 18,576 admitted, 2,666 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 60%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 58%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (63 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | $148,354 | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | $78,326 | $117,131 | not reported |
| Computer Science | $83,258 | $116,238 | $8,623 |
| Electrical Engineering | $78,172 | $97,698 | $13,563 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $65,905 | $97,270 | $13,232 |
| Biomedical Engineering | $56,711 | $95,685 | not reported |
| Chemical Engineering | $67,450 | $88,659 | $14,125 |
| Civil Engineering | $67,194 | $87,957 | $17,500 |
| Environmental Engineering | $62,945 | $87,804 | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | $73,882 | not reported |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | $72,068 | not reported |
| Communications | $42,734 | $69,948 | $15,827 |
| Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education | not reported | $68,614 | not reported |
| Economics | $45,556 | $67,679 | $7,300 |
| Applied Mathematics | $28,702 | $66,754 | not reported |
| Business Administration | $40,141 | $64,414 | $10,518 |
| Biology | $28,324 | $63,206 | $12,348 |
| Biochemistry | $44,175 | $62,440 | not reported |
| Political Science | $29,823 | $59,540 | $11,500 |
| International Relations | $30,627 | $59,039 | $13,337 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $43,059 | $58,063 | $12,985 |
| Psychology | $30,925 | $56,223 | $10,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $39,169 | $55,895 | $9,916 |
| Sociology | $28,825 | $55,683 | $11,000 |
| History | $30,290 | $52,809 | $11,487 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $26,973 | $48,637 | $20,532 |
| English | $27,082 | $47,753 | $13,782 |
| Film and Photography | $26,918 | $46,801 | not reported |
| Studio Art | $24,742 | $45,656 | $15,849 |
| Music | $19,145 | $44,058 | $20,000 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $23,932 | $34,212 | not reported |
| Theatre | $15,098 | $32,769 | $17,739 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Landscape Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electromechanical Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Middle / Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Studies / Paralegal | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biotechnology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Digital Humanities and Textual Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | $33,339 | not reported | not reported |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | $48,908 | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nursing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Entrepreneurship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Mechanical Engineering → Mechanical engineer: median wage $109,990 (New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ), $102,440 (NY), $104,110 (U.S.)
- Electrical Engineering → Electrical engineer: median wage $128,340 (New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ), $119,010 (NY), $120,630 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
