# College of the Atlantic

Private nonprofit college in Bar Harbor, ME. IPEDS ID 160959.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/college-of-the-atlantic · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/college-of-the-atlantic.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 70% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $25,184 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 68%; beats 76% of ME colleges and 76% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $40,264; beats 6% of ME colleges and 13% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $17,723

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $20,415 |
| 30-48k | $13,942 |
| 48-75k | $16,650 |
| 75-110k | $26,266 |
| 110k+ | $34,684 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.3 years on average (52% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $40,264 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $36,661 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in ME (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $20,415 | $87,785 | more than 20 years |
| 30-48k | $13,942 | $59,951 | 16.6 years |
| 48-75k | $16,650 | $71,595 | 19.9 years |
| 75-110k | $26,266 | $112,944 | more than 20 years |
| 110k+ | $34,684 | $149,141 | more than 20 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $58,266
- Tuition and fees: $47,997
- Housing and meals: $10,101; books: $600

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 660–730; SAT math: 580–700; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 446 applicants, 290 admitted, 81 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 70%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 65%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (2 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interdisciplinary Studies | $23,003 | $31,138 | $25,475 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
