# College of Saint Benedict

Private nonprofit college in Saint Joseph, MN. IPEDS ID 174747.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/college-of-saint-benedict · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/college-of-saint-benedict.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 92% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $26,640 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 77%; beats 89% of MN colleges and 87% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $63,260; beats 68% of MN colleges and 76% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $23,250

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,981 |
| 30-48k | $14,791 |
| 48-75k | $20,378 |
| 75-110k | $24,039 |
| 110k+ | $33,660 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.05 years on average (79% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $63,260 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $38,184 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,981 | $52,573 | 2.1 years |
| 30-48k | $14,791 | $59,904 | 2.4 years |
| 48-75k | $20,378 | $82,531 | 3.3 years |
| 75-110k | $24,039 | $97,358 | 3.9 years |
| 110k+ | $33,660 | $136,323 | 5.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $68,453
- Tuition and fees: $55,756
- Housing and meals: $12,160; books: $1,000

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 565–643; SAT math: 483–590; ACT: 20–27 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 1,852 applicants, 1,692 admitted, 379 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 92%, ACT 20–27 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 91%, ACT 21–27 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (39 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting | $64,410 | $87,159 | $26,925 |
| Nursing | $75,656 | $84,492 | $27,000 |
| Business Administration | $54,373 | $78,901 | $27,000 |
| Political Science | $35,104 | $64,777 | $27,000 |
| Writing | not reported | $64,449 | not reported |
| Communications | $45,702 | $64,430 | $27,000 |
| Nutrition Science | $28,402 | $61,790 | $26,572 |
| Biology | $35,800 | $60,050 | $27,000 |
| Psychology | $41,029 | $57,475 | $27,000 |
| English | not reported | $51,753 | $27,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $43,466 | $51,487 | $27,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | $23,307 |
| Physiology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Natural Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classical and Ancient Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theology / Ministry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $105,290 (St. Cloud, MN), $101,510 (MN), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $94,590 (St. Cloud, MN), $100,790 (MN), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
