# California State University-Los Angeles

Public college in Los Angeles, CA. IPEDS ID 110592.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/california-state-university-los-angeles · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/california-state-university-los-angeles.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 91% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $3,967 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 53%; beats 32% of CA colleges and 48% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $59,211; beats 38% of CA colleges and 68% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $11,966

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $2,877 |
| 30-48k | $2,974 |
| 48-75k | $5,002 |
| 75-110k | $7,355 |
| 110k+ | $13,578 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $18,403 in-state; about $31,003 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $7,160 in-state, $19,760 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $18,658; books: $1,011

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 32,748 applicants, 30,106 admitted, 3,614 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 91%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 92%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (60 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $98,811 | $116,182 | $18,964 |
| Electrical Engineering | $63,981 | $96,014 | $14,676 |
| Civil Engineering | $73,178 | $94,760 | $18,767 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $55,405 | $93,028 | $13,000 |
| Computer Science | $44,530 | $87,525 | $15,321 |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | $45,287 | $86,970 | $15,883 |
| Mathematics | $37,845 | $70,677 | $13,053 |
| Air Transportation | $46,267 | $70,508 | $15,132 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $45,355 | $69,022 | $13,000 |
| Biochemistry | $50,428 | $67,441 | $16,730 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | $39,266 | $65,366 | $19,334 |
| Business Administration | $42,062 | $62,716 | $13,750 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $30,824 | $59,904 | $15,171 |
| Social Work | $37,477 | $59,545 | $11,000 |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | $32,805 | $57,695 | $12,812 |
| Public Health | $40,750 | $56,466 | $12,500 |
| Political Science | $29,818 | $56,063 | $10,614 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $27,058 | $55,970 | $22,500 |
| History | $26,862 | $55,413 | $14,721 |
| Economics | $32,877 | $54,998 | $11,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $32,974 | $54,695 | $11,679 |
| Biology | $33,304 | $53,908 | $13,000 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | $28,702 | $53,857 | $12,500 |
| Philosophy | not reported | $53,127 | not reported |
| Nutrition Science | $31,096 | $52,797 | $14,493 |
| English | $23,858 | $52,259 | $14,750 |
| Chemistry | $44,944 | $51,747 | $11,000 |
| Writing | $28,725 | $51,414 | $13,500 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $31,366 | $50,444 | $12,331 |
| Sociology | $34,092 | $50,249 | $12,500 |
| Psychology (Clinical / Counseling) | $29,457 | $46,060 | $12,500 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $28,687 | $44,930 | $13,750 |
| Studio Art | $24,538 | $40,783 | $19,087 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $22,133 | $39,867 | $15,068 |
| Music | $21,509 | $39,120 | $12,500 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $20,433 | $35,591 | not reported |
| Theatre | $16,645 | $35,097 | $11,000 |
| Food Science and Technology | $52,806 | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Natural Sciences | $39,870 | not reported | not reported |
| Intercultural / Multicultural and Diversity Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology | $37,567 | not reported | $24,994 |
| Fire Protection | $48,289 | not reported | $11,750 |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | $29,364 | not reported | $14,000 |
| Geography | $33,727 | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dietetics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $104,930 (Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA), $101,460 (CA), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Criminal Justice → Police officer: median wage $121,980 (Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA), $118,880 (CA), $76,210 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
