# California Institute of Technology

Private nonprofit college in Pasadena, CA. IPEDS ID 110404.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/california-institute-of-technology · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/california-institute-of-technology.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 3% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $16,075 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 94%; beats 98% of CA colleges and 98% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $128,566; beats 98% of CA colleges and 100% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $12,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $0 |
| 30-48k | $0 |
| 48-75k | $431 |
| 75-110k | $18,753 |
| 110k+ | $54,157 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $86,886
- Tuition and fees: $65,898
- Housing and meals: $19,503; books: $1,428

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 13,107 applicants, 412 admitted, 266 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 3%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 3%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (25 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $173,344 | $200,511 | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomedical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Materials Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Computer Science → Software developer: median wage $160,920 (Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA), $174,410 (CA), $135,980 (U.S.)
- Biomedical Engineering → Biomedical engineer: median wage $128,240 (Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA), $128,310 (CA), $109,370 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
