# Brigham Young University-Hawaii

Private nonprofit college in Laie, HI. IPEDS ID 230047.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/brigham-young-university-hawaii · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/brigham-young-university-hawaii.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 47% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $16,774 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 53%; beats 71% of HI colleges and 47% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $52,064; beats 43% of HI colleges and 46% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $5,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,623 |
| 30-48k | $21,255 |
| 48-75k | $15,993 |
| 75-110k | $17,155 |
| 110k+ | $22,582 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.63 years on average (27% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $52,064 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $36,661 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in HI (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,623 | $53,814 | 3.5 years |
| 30-48k | $21,255 | $98,411 | 6.4 years |
| 48-75k | $15,993 | $74,048 | 4.8 years |
| 75-110k | $17,155 | $79,428 | 5.2 years |
| 110k+ | $22,582 | $104,555 | 6.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $25,098
- Tuition and fees: $6,630
- Housing and meals: $9,916; books: $1,310

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 480–620; SAT math: 480–570; ACT: 21–25 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 1,270 applicants, 481 admitted, 335 enrolled; test scores required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 47%, ACT 21–25 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 38%, ACT 21–25 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (40 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physiology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Intercultural / Multicultural and Diversity Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cultural Studies / Critical Theory and Analysis | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology / Biotechnology Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Work | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration | $41,461 | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Hospitality Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Resources | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $63,780 (Urban Honolulu, HI), $63,880 (HI), $74,750 (U.S.)
- Computer and Information Sciences → Software developer: median wage $120,230 (Urban Honolulu, HI), $124,040 (HI), $135,980 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
