# Boise State University

Public college in Boise, ID. IPEDS ID 142115.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/boise-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/boise-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 87% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $21,610 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 60%; beats 62% of ID colleges and 62% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $51,658; beats 57% of ID colleges and 45% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $14,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,165 |
| 30-48k | $17,974 |
| 48-75k | $20,731 |
| 75-110k | $23,573 |
| 110k+ | $25,893 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.42 years on average (40% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $51,658 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in ID (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,165 | $80,289 | 5.1 years |
| 30-48k | $17,974 | $79,445 | 5.0 years |
| 48-75k | $20,731 | $91,631 | 5.8 years |
| 75-110k | $23,573 | $104,193 | 6.6 years |
| 110k+ | $25,893 | $114,447 | 7.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $28,224 in-state; about $46,964 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $9,048 in-state, $27,788 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $16,610; books: $1,226

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 15,949 applicants, 13,391 admitted, 3,080 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 87%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 84%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (71 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $85,596 | $112,120 | $27,000 |
| Electrical Engineering | $72,832 | $100,680 | $35,463 |
| Construction Management | $77,109 | $95,250 | $25,000 |
| Nursing | $79,301 | $91,491 | $27,220 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | $76,843 | $89,863 | $25,675 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $62,835 | $85,354 | $24,833 |
| Civil Engineering | $65,648 | $81,405 | $27,000 |
| Chemistry | not reported | $78,901 | $25,623 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $55,422 | $77,439 | $15,375 |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | $75,336 | not reported |
| Economics | $46,137 | $71,817 | $24,675 |
| Finance | $48,712 | $70,449 | $20,000 |
| Accounting | $53,118 | $69,257 | $22,124 |
| Business Administration | $48,776 | $66,283 | $22,215 |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $45,369 | $65,089 | $26,000 |
| Marketing | $45,024 | $65,040 | $22,000 |
| Physics | $45,813 | $64,459 | $26,175 |
| Business | $45,318 | $64,202 | $22,302 |
| International Business | $42,039 | $62,964 | $25,419 |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | $34,244 | $60,164 | $25,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $30,709 | $58,562 | $22,524 |
| Political Science | $32,650 | $55,478 | $21,500 |
| Social Work | $40,126 | $55,188 | $28,350 |
| Geology / Earth Science | $31,701 | $53,995 | $27,299 |
| Communications | $37,954 | $53,278 | $23,095 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | $38,831 | $51,708 | $31,613 |
| Psychology | $30,865 | $51,184 | $22,559 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $28,211 | $50,697 | $20,356 |
| Criminal Justice | $37,891 | $50,297 | $22,071 |
| Social Sciences | $36,298 | $49,683 | $25,000 |
| History | $34,568 | $49,625 | $28,050 |
| Biology | $36,288 | $49,570 | $22,988 |
| Mathematics | not reported | $48,582 | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $41,141 | $47,505 | $27,880 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $42,237 | $47,419 | $24,000 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $26,579 | $44,684 | $23,500 |
| Sociology | $26,809 | $44,676 | $25,635 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $31,083 | $42,527 | $28,599 |
| English | $24,861 | $39,059 | $26,000 |
| Anthropology | not reported | $36,830 | $29,572 |
| Agriculture / Veterinary Preparatory Programs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | $42,303 | not reported | $26,675 |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Materials Engineering | not reported | not reported | $25,000 |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | $21,032 |
| Literature | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physiology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Digital Humanities and Textual Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Security / Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | $46,117 | not reported | $22,758 |
| Business Economics | $46,511 | not reported | $14,538 |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $97,880 (Boise City, ID), $92,460 (ID), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) → Radiologic technologist: median wage $81,640 (Boise City, ID), $80,080 (ID), $80,110 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
