# Bemidji State University

Public college in Bemidji, MN. IPEDS ID 173124.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/bemidji-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/bemidji-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 56% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $15,261 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 48%; beats 22% of MN colleges and 38% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $53,755; beats 32% of MN colleges and 51% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $13,809

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,073 |
| 30-48k | $10,207 |
| 48-75k | $12,201 |
| 75-110k | $15,857 |
| 110k+ | $19,940 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.35 years on average (37% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $53,755 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $38,184 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,073 | $43,818 | 2.8 years |
| 30-48k | $10,207 | $44,400 | 2.9 years |
| 48-75k | $12,201 | $53,074 | 3.4 years |
| 75-110k | $15,857 | $68,978 | 4.4 years |
| 110k+ | $19,940 | $86,739 | 5.6 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $22,744 in-state; about $22,744 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $10,237 in-state, $10,237 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $10,041; books: $890

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: 18–24 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 2,860 applicants, 2,021 admitted, 480 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 56%, ACT 18–24 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 71%, ACT 18–23 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (44 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Engineering Technologies / Technicians | $85,830 | $90,868 | $30,982 |
| Nursing | $77,639 | $84,436 | $27,990 |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | not reported | $76,882 | not reported |
| Accounting | $58,446 | $72,153 | $30,114 |
| Business Administration | $47,396 | $64,086 | $23,500 |
| Criminal Justice | $49,617 | $58,519 | $23,181 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $32,388 | $57,357 | $24,898 |
| Social Work | $47,192 | $56,345 | $27,000 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $40,231 | $54,642 | $27,000 |
| Biology | $37,469 | $50,548 | $25,494 |
| Psychology | $33,963 | $49,116 | $26,000 |
| Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management | $35,806 | $49,040 | $22,301 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $39,195 | $49,001 | $24,000 |
| Communications | $34,243 | $48,877 | $20,875 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $45,668 | $47,137 | $23,389 |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | $35,521 | $45,822 | $28,626 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $42,841 | $44,719 | $27,757 |
| Environmental / Natural Resources Management and Policy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering-Related Fields | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage not reported (metro), $101,510 (MN), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage not reported (metro), $100,790 (MN), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
