# Belmont Abbey College (BAC)

Private nonprofit college in Belmont, NC. IPEDS ID 197984.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/belmont-abbey-college · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/belmont-abbey-college.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 75% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $24,639 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 47%; beats 43% of NC colleges and 36% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $47,937; beats 57% of NC colleges and 34% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $14,560

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $20,610 |
| 30-48k | $18,868 |
| 48-75k | $21,195 |
| 75-110k | $24,798 |
| 110k+ | $27,059 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.17 years on average (40% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $47,937 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NC (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $20,610 | $85,944 | 6.0 years |
| 30-48k | $18,868 | $78,680 | 5.5 years |
| 48-75k | $21,195 | $88,383 | 6.1 years |
| 75-110k | $24,798 | $103,408 | 7.2 years |
| 110k+ | $27,059 | $112,836 | 7.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $34,788
- Tuition and fees: $19,500
- Housing and meals: $12,056; books: $1,700

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 490–610; SAT math: 470–590; ACT: 18–26 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 2,972 applicants, 2,686 admitted, 400 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 75%, ACT 18–26 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 90%, ACT 17–25 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (25 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting | $55,224 | $74,698 | $25,982 |
| Business Administration | $45,039 | $70,655 | $27,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $34,463 | $60,235 | $27,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $46,654 | $60,199 | $33,291 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $42,167 | $46,372 | $27,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $27,739 | $45,008 | $25,250 |
| Education | $30,966 | $44,460 | $27,000 |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | $25,738 |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theology / Ministry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology | not reported | not reported | $26,000 |
| Human Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nursing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $102,920 (Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC), $98,560 (NC), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage $58,680 (Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC), $54,930 (NC), $63,970 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
