# Baylor University

Private nonprofit college in Waco, TX. IPEDS ID 223232.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/baylor-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/baylor-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 51% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $41,104 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 80%; beats 93% of TX colleges and 89% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $65,793; beats 88% of TX colleges and 81% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $19,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,024 |
| 30-48k | $21,530 |
| 48-75k | $33,902 |
| 75-110k | $38,852 |
| 110k+ | $47,895 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.14 years on average (70% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $65,793 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,024 | $91,179 | 2.8 years |
| 30-48k | $21,530 | $89,134 | 2.8 years |
| 48-75k | $33,902 | $140,354 | 4.3 years |
| 75-110k | $38,852 | $160,847 | 5.0 years |
| 110k+ | $47,895 | $198,285 | 6.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $74,226
- Tuition and fees: $58,100
- Housing and meals: $14,235; books: $1,438

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 610–700; SAT math: 590–700; ACT: 27–32 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 39,735 applicants, 20,262 admitted, 3,317 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 51%, ACT 27–32 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 51%, ACT 27–32 (IPEDS Admissions)

### Common Data Set 2025-26 (Fall 2025)
- Very important: gpa, test scores; important: rigor, essay; considered: class rank, recommendations, extracurriculars, talent, character, first generation, alumni relation, geography, state residency, religion, volunteer, work experience, interest
- Early decision: yes; early action: yes; waitlist: yes (19 admitted of 916 who accepted a spot)
- Aid (full-time first-years): average 70.5% of need met; 368 of 2045 with need fully met; merit aid to students without need: 1374 students, average $22,041
- Source: https://ir.web.baylor.edu/sites/g/files/ecbvkj1621/files/2026-04/cds-pdf-2025-2026-final.pdf

## Majors (80 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $82,714 | $128,411 | $27,000 |
| General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations | $84,271 | $125,167 | $20,500 |
| Business | $74,886 | $124,434 | $15,000 |
| Finance | $67,909 | $102,812 | $23,000 |
| Accounting | $68,187 | $102,011 | $20,500 |
| Electrical Engineering | $82,475 | $100,110 | $21,500 |
| Management Information Systems | $70,873 | $96,148 | $24,000 |
| Real Estate | $57,834 | $94,027 | $20,530 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $75,726 | $92,990 | $27,000 |
| Mathematics | $45,195 | $89,618 | $25,000 |
| Nursing | $75,213 | $89,510 | $26,975 |
| Human Resources | $62,562 | $89,102 | $20,475 |
| Entrepreneurship | $59,052 | $86,363 | $19,375 |
| Business Administration | $63,438 | $85,961 | $22,866 |
| Business Economics | $60,575 | $84,808 | $22,500 |
| Engineering | not reported | $84,689 | not reported |
| Marketing | $57,162 | $78,398 | $21,775 |
| International Business | $40,782 | $71,071 | not reported |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | $30,164 | $68,460 | $25,000 |
| International Relations | $37,507 | $67,484 | $22,409 |
| Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations | $43,414 | $67,066 | $23,115 |
| Chemistry | not reported | $65,293 | $27,000 |
| Psychology | $27,785 | $65,090 | $25,212 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | $38,174 | $63,909 | $21,000 |
| Journalism | $35,675 | $63,622 | $23,959 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $39,333 | $63,522 | $26,500 |
| Political Science | $32,981 | $61,578 | $26,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $31,707 | $59,701 | $26,000 |
| Communications | $43,740 | $58,915 | $23,860 |
| Social Work | not reported | $58,293 | $23,198 |
| Sociology | $37,753 | $57,822 | $25,937 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $53,201 | $57,434 | $27,000 |
| Biology | $24,408 | $57,155 | $23,850 |
| History | $20,391 | $57,006 | $24,625 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $53,614 | $56,476 | $22,250 |
| English | not reported | $54,367 | not reported |
| Neuroscience | $24,100 | $53,927 | $27,000 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | $30,687 | $51,727 | $27,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $33,921 | $51,273 | $26,997 |
| Anthropology | $28,369 | $50,699 | $26,500 |
| Studio Art | not reported | $50,253 | $26,000 |
| Religious Studies | $31,672 | $50,002 | $25,612 |
| Biochemistry | $30,496 | $49,661 | $27,000 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $32,137 | $46,979 | $21,350 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $27,554 | $46,043 | $25,000 |
| Theatre | $20,267 | $45,706 | $24,130 |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | not reported | $45,554 | $26,757 |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $31,994 | $44,995 | $19,500 |
| Music | $10,210 | $40,017 | $27,000 |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $34,649 | not reported | $26,228 |
| Middle / Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | $19,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Music and Worship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Science Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Air Transportation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | $23,096 | not reported | $22,495 |
| Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Insurance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $92,890 (Waco, TX), $95,970 (TX), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Accounting → Accountant / auditor: median wage $76,140 (Waco, TX), $80,920 (TX), $83,680 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
