# American Musical and Dramatic Academy

Private nonprofit college in New York, NY. IPEDS ID 188854. Bachelor's & associate degrees (38% of undergraduate awards are bachelor's, 2023-24).
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/american-musical-and-dramatic-academy · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/american-musical-and-dramatic-academy.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 25% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $41,416 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 72%; beats 70% of NY colleges and 81% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $26,975; beats 4% of NY colleges and 1% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $12,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $25,437 |
| 30-48k | $27,924 |
| 48-75k | $43,968 |
| 75-110k | $51,214 |
| 110k+ | $59,423 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.01 years on average (58% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $26,975 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $25,437 | $102,002 | no earnings gain |
| 30-48k | $27,924 | $111,975 | no earnings gain |
| 48-75k | $43,968 | $176,312 | no earnings gain |
| 75-110k | $51,214 | $205,368 | no earnings gain |
| 110k+ | $59,423 | $238,286 | no earnings gain |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $65,647
- Tuition and fees: $46,928
- Housing and meals: $15,500; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 6,580 applicants, 1,626 admitted, 387 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 25%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 25%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (2 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dance | $15,881 | $34,107 | $27,000 |
| Theatre | $17,410 | $32,008 | $27,000 |

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
