# Allegheny College

Private nonprofit college in Meadville, PA. IPEDS ID 210669.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/allegheny-college · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/allegheny-college.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 55% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $22,940 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 73%; beats 76% of PA colleges and 82% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $62,069; beats 49% of PA colleges and 74% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $25,017

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,495 |
| 30-48k | $27,718 |
| 48-75k | $13,059 |
| 75-110k | $21,357 |
| 110k+ | $30,046 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.12 years on average (59% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $62,069 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in PA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,495 | $76,199 | 2.9 years |
| 30-48k | $27,718 | $114,198 | 4.3 years |
| 48-75k | $13,059 | $53,803 | 2.0 years |
| 75-110k | $21,357 | $87,991 | 3.3 years |
| 110k+ | $30,046 | $123,790 | 4.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $71,348
- Tuition and fees: $56,550
- Housing and meals: $13,796; books: $1,000

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 610–690; SAT math: 563–668; ACT: 25–30 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 5,045 applicants, 2,953 admitted, 283 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 55%, ACT 25–30 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 59%, ACT 25–31 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (34 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $58,811 | $86,069 | $26,500 |
| Economics | $51,722 | $79,018 | $27,000 |
| Public Health | $32,328 | $64,595 | $27,000 |
| Political Science | $30,834 | $60,241 | $27,000 |
| Biology | $35,620 | $59,989 | $27,000 |
| Communications | $31,994 | $54,366 | $27,000 |
| History | $20,713 | $53,454 | $27,000 |
| English | not reported | $51,381 | $27,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $30,552 | $51,265 | $27,000 |
| Psychology | $35,218 | $48,890 | $27,000 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $21,822 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | $36,178 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sustainability Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Community Organization and Advocacy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | $24,303 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Environmental Science / Conservation → Environmental scientist: median wage not reported (metro), $76,110 (PA), $82,220 (U.S.)
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage not reported (metro), $57,460 (PA), $74,750 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
